top of page
  • BY Hilton

Why? Just Why?


Out of all the quarterbacks that were available in the 2018 NFL Draft I believe that the Univeristy of Oklahoma Sooners quarterback Baker Mayfield is the best but I do not think he deserved to be the first overall pick in this year's draft. Out of all the players in the draft I think Baker is the most popular and I think he is the most mature out of all the other players. What I respected about Mayfield is that he did not rush to go to the NFL Draft and knew when the time was right to go to the Draft.

Baker was a straight up beast when he was at Oklahoma for three years as he threw for 12,005 yards and threw 117 touchdowns. Of all three years Baker threw for more yards and touchdowns than the season before showing that Baker improved as time went on during his time with the Sooners. Baker did win the 2017 Heisman award which he deserved and it was unfortunate he couldn't get the Sooners a national championship as a lot of people in the country thinks the Sooners deserved it this year.

The Cleveland Browns had the first overall pick in this years NFL Draft and they chose Baker Mayfield with that pick. So here's the problem I have with the Browns picking Mayfield. The Browns selected Mayfield knowing that they already have an experienced quarterback right in front of their face that they even traded for in Tyrod Taylor. If I was the Browns general manager I would choose who do I want to have lead this franchise for the future between Baker and Tyrod and choose Baker instantly. I just don't understand why the Browns even traded for Taylor before the draft. Like the Browns knew that they were going to get the best quarterback in the draft but they still traded a third round pick or the 65th pick to be exact for him.

When the Browns traded for Taylor on March 9th some people including myself probably thought that the Browns wanted the QB they want now so they can focus on drafting an elite running back which can be a dynamic force and that man was supposed to be Saquon Barkley. I am honestly telling you right now if the Browns drafted Barkley this team would win 8 games in the 2018 NFL season. I honestly felt Barkley could carry the Browns to wins with Tyrod Taylor playing at the same level he was last year.

People might say to me that the Browns needed Baker more than Saquon but I don't buy that whatsoever. Like the Browns selected Georgia's running back Nick Chubbs with the 35th overall pick and that is fine I guess. But if I had the opportunity to tell you right now right in front of your face that Saquon is better than Nick Chubbs I would take that opportunity and let you know it. Like the Browns could've selected Barkley and still use their fourth overall draft pick to pick a quarterback that might not be as good as Baker but still a whole lot better than Tyrod Taylor like Lamar Jackson or Mason Rudolph. Heck of you want to say Josh Rosen too I would be cool with that.

Like Lamar Jackson is like Tyrod Taylor 2.0 who can run better and pass the god darn football better. Like if the Browns drafted Barkley and draft a different quarterback this team could be thinking about a Wild Card spot and I am being dead serious. They could've even kept the third round pick or even use one of their second round draft picks and pick someone else on defense who can ball out besides Denzel Ward like Josh Jackson from Iowa, Donte Jackson from LSU, Duke Dawson from Florida, Troy Apke from Penn State or maybe even Jordan Whitehead from Pittsburgh. Yeah I had to say Jordan Whitehead because even though Whitehead wasn't talked about as much I have watched him play a lot for the Pitt Panthers and I watched him closely when he was in high school at Central Valley and I could tell you that this man was good at defending receivers.

I know which ever team Baker went that he is going to be a leader for that team its just that Cleveland could've selected better picks for the team that they had already before the draft and they need to start thinking about winning games for their program and if they can actually win at least eight games with Baker under center and whoever they have at running back and with Jarvis Landry and Josh Gordon that would be pretty cool. I also hope Tyrod can play football some more in his career because I have a lot of respect for him as a a person and he can run with the football really good. I just really don't want to see a quarterback who gets a team to the playoffs a year before and then the next season just sit on the god darn bench. That just would not be right.

5 views
bottom of page