top of page
  • BY Hilton

Leonard Fournette's 1st Year


I don't know what you all think about Leonard Fournette after his first season in the NFL. But after 1 year of Leonard playing in the NFL all I can say is that I absolutely love him. One reason that I like Fournette so much is that he helped my fantasy football team win a lot of games in the regular season and he helped me personally get into the championship game in my FF league which I eventually lost.

When I look at Fournette in his Jaguars jersey I think of how much the jersey looks good on Fournette when he wears it. I actually don't see Fournette wearing any other NFL jersey as I feel like God has put him with the right team. Leonard is a hard worker that continues to play in a game even if his team, the Jacksonville Jaguars, are blowing another team out or just straight up winning by a lot of points and know that they secured the win.

After I saw Fournette rush for that 90 yard touchdown with 1 minute and 27 seconds left in the fourth quarter against the Steelers in Week 5 of the 2017 NFL regular season I knew that Fournette is a special player that wants to be the best because of the way he kept playing the game even though his team basically already won the game since the Jaguars were winning 21-9 with less than 1 minute 30 seconds left.

Fournette missed three games in the regular season last season due to either an injury and a personal issue with the team. He ran for 1,040 yards during the regular season and I know that if he played those three games that he missed which were against the Colts, Bengals and Texans he would have easily been in the top 3 in rushing yards in the NFL this season as those were pretty bad defenses that Fournette could have faced.

What I like about Fournette is how strong and fast he is. Every time he runs with the ball you can feel like he is going to make an explosive play. Fournette has also proved to the city of Jacksonville that he will show up in big games like the game against the Steelers in the AFC Divisional Round. He was just so explosive that he made the Steelers defense look like a bunch of high school players playing defense that are struggling communicating with each other. He has helped his fellow quarterback Blake Bortles not feel as much pressure as Blake had faced before Fournette's entrance to Jacksonville. I think once Blake saw at the beginning of the regular season how much of an impact Fournette was making on the team he realized that he needed to prove to Jacksonville that he is good as well and it's him and Fournette winning games and it's not just Fournette doing all the work.

Fournette played his college football at LSU and I think since Fournette was so used to a winning culture at LSU that he was going to turn Jacksonville into a winning team. Since 2014 Fournette has not had a losing record while playing both college and NFL football which shows how much Leonard will make sure he does not lose.

Jacksonville has found their new running back as they do not need to draft a starting running back again for years to come.

3 views
bottom of page