top of page
  • BY Hilton

Miss Me With That Nonsense


So this evening Sports Center released Part 3 of Paul George's documentary: My Journey. After watching Part 3 I actually feel stronger about my opinion that Paul George should have not signed with the Oklahoma City Thunder.

If you did not know already I am part of the LeBron James bandwagon. Any team that LeBron plays for I am a supporter for that team. Now was I upset that PG-13 chose Oklahoma City over the team that he grew up liking in the Los Angeles Lakers? Yeah I was upset. When George was drinking wine with Dwyane Wade in Part 2 of the documentary, Wade told George how back when LeBron was a free agent in 2010 that Wade wanted to win championships and was sick and tired of losing in the first round of the playoffs. I actually thought that when Wade said that to him that George was going to think to himself that he should actually join a team that has a very good chance of winning an NBA title right now. Also, in part two of the video George said that Boston was an option for him. I would have respected George if he made the decision to go to Boston because the Eastern Conference is so easy and with him, Rozier, Irving, Hayward and Tatum that team would honestly destroy every single team in the Eastern Conference it would be funny but also not funny at the same time.

I started getting a headache when at the very beginning of Part 3 when George said "I wanted to come here [Los Angeles] a year ago prior to going to OKC. Unfortunately, I wasn't traded to Lakers. Lakers didn't grab me. I was traded to Oklahoma. And, that has been a beautiful thing for me." I was really puzzled when George said that and if George was sitting next to me right now I would want to ask him, Why in the name of Davy Jones' locker would you have wanted to play on the Lakers last year when they were not even close to a playoff team? If I was George I would want to play with the Lakers now because of LeBron, Rondo, Lance Stephenson, Lonzo Ball and the other young promising stars they have in Brandon Ingram and Kyle Kuzma. I wish Wade would have said in Part 2 of the documentary to George that you should want to go to Los Angeles this offseason not last offseason.

I actually wonder if George did not think LeBron was actually going to Los Angeles this offseason because George made his decision to go to Oklahoma City right away as free agency started. If George actually thinks that he and Russell Westbrook are going to find a way to win in the Western Conference right now he has to be out of his mind. Unless, George and Westbrook both average 40 PPG this season then I could see them going far deep in the playoffs. I feel that if the Thunder want to do well that they need to tell Carmelo Anthony that they still know he is on that team. For real though if Melo, Westbrook and PG-13 can all find a way to get a long I could see this team finding a way to get to the Western Conference Finals. The fact that the media and some fans in OKC want Carmelo gone is not a good sign.

If Paul George specifically said that he is going to stay in Oklahoma City because he likes the community and the players on the team I would have been totally fine with that. But the fact that he said he thinks that the Thunder have a chance of winning a championship really puts a puzzled expression on my face. OKC better be adding more players this offseason because the roster they have is not enough. I keep thinking to myself that there was no way that Utah Jazz player Donovan Mitchell actually destroyed the heck out of the Thunder in the first round of the playoffs. But then I come back to reality and realized Mitchell did single handedly destroy that team. As of right now with the way the teams looked like right now in the Western Conference the Lakers, the Warriors, the Rockets, the Jazz and even the Timberwolves look better than the Thunder right now.

When Paul George said that his relationship with Russell Westbrook strengthened as the season went on I was actually surprised. I seriously thought that after the playoffs ended that George and Westbrook would not talk to each other in at least six months because of how badly it went in the playoffs and how they both wanted the ball more than the other. But at the end of the Part 3 documentary it was clear to everyone that Westbrook and George are like best friends and they must have had a long talk with each other before free agency began. In Part 3 of the documentary Westbrook had a party in OKC and it concerned me that Melo was not there and PG-13 was there. Hopefully, Melo had other things to do and was invited to the party because if Melo was not invited to Westbrook's party I would be very concern if I was a Thunder fan knowing that George and Westbrook are not trying to strengthen their relationship with Melo.

Paul George also said before he arrived at Westbrook's party that he likes Westbrook because he has the urgency to win and win a championship. I was about to scream at my television and say "Dude [Paul George] you could have played with LeBron James who only does not think about winning championships 24/7 but play with one of the best players in the league and play with someone who could have made YOU become into a player." I know PG-13 would never say this publically, but if he decided to stay in OKC because of the money I would have respected that. He is getting paid $137 million the next four years and I think anybody would take that money for whichever NBA team offers them that contract.

If PG-13 thinks his team is in a good position to win a championship he needs to re-think that statement. I actually wish him and the Thunder the best as hopefully they prove me wrong and my statement that: There team cannot win a championship right now.

0 views
bottom of page