top of page
  • BY Hilton

When I Hear The Name Kawhi Leonard, All I Think About Is Kiwis


Now, that LeBron James has made a decision on where he is going to play next season, the focus that everybody in the sports media is talking about is where will Kawhi Leonard be traded to.

I would not be surprised in the slightest bit if Leonard does not get traded at all and he continues playing for the Spurs next year. One of the latest rumors said about Leonard is that he wants to play basketball in Los Angeles, but he wants to play for the Clippers and not the Lakers. When I heard about this rumor I realized to myself that if the Spurs are going to trade Kawhi they should do it now because I am sick and tired about all this Leonard trade talk.

Leonard actually missed the first twenty-seven games of this past season due to a right quadriceps injury and did not play his first game of the season until December 12th 2017. Then on January 5th 2018 he suffered a tear in his left shoulder and because of that injury he missed the rest of the season so as a result Leonard only played nine games with the Spurs last year. The fact that the San Antonio Spurs medical staff told Kawhi he was cleared to play in February and Kawhi didn't believe he was ready to play was not a good sign as later on he got a second opinion from his own doctors and spent more time in rehab.

If you are working for the Spurs you cannot be upset that Leonard did not think he was ready to play. Like do you really think Kawhi wanted to get on the court when he realized he was not 100 percent? He's not trying to hurt himself as he probably suffered a lot of pain. As a fan of the NBA I want to see Kawhi stay in San Antonio because I am just so used to him playing San Antonio I don't want to see a change in him playing for another team. I feel if Leonard is on another team like the Clippers or the Celtics or the Heat that he is not going to be that good. I honestly feel if Kawhi is moved to a different team right now his career would hit a big slump. I'm going to mention two other NBA players right now. Honestly, once Carmelo Anthony left the Knicks and once Dwight Howard left the Magic those two have not been the same. I feel that if Leonard was on a different team he would not be the same player averaging 20 PPG. If Kawhi and the whole Spurs organization just "Trust The Process" everything will be fine in San Antonio and they would be in the playoffs next year.

Honestly, I sometimes forget that Leonard was NBA Finals MVP in 2014 because his name was not mentioned back then because Duncan, Ginobli and Parker were all still playing with each other. Honestly, I think what the San Antonio Spurs are really missing something in their locker room and that is Tim Duncan. I would not be surprised if all the Spurs players and the organization would still be upset with Duncan not on their team anymore. I bet Kawhi is probably frustrated that his good friend Tim is not playing with him anymore because I believe that Tim really made an impact on Kawhi playing on the basketball court. The Spurs could not be any worse than they were last season and if Leonard stays on the team that whole team would be fine.

We will see what happens with Leonard for the rest of the offseason as every day it seems that there is a new trade rumor involving Kawhi Leonard.

2 views
bottom of page