top of page
  • BY Hilton

Cam's Carolina Panthers


Cam Newton is one of the most entertaining quarterbacks in the entire NFL. What you got to like about Cam is the fact that he is big, he is not afraid to run with the football and of course he can throw the football well.

The 2015 Carolina Panthers were a special football team because their defense was good and the fact that Cam Newton basically had no star wide receivers and star running backs on the team and he was still able to carry his team to the Super Bowl. I wanted the Panthers to win Super Bowl 50. I really did. Denver's defense was just way too good that year as they had their way with Cam Newton in Super Bowl 50 and it was just very disappointing to see Carolina not win the Super Bowl that year. Going into that game the best team in football was Carolina. Football fans and the media knew that the team that chokes in Super Bowl 50 will lose and the team that does not choke will win. The Panthers choked and the Broncos did not. Ever since that very disappointing loss for the Panthers, Cam Newton has one goal in mind and that is to get that Super Bowl championship that he should have won in 2016.

In June 2017, Cam Newton held his annual 7-on-7 passing tournament and he told the high school players participating his tournament that " I'm missing one thing: I want a Super Bowl.", via CBS Sports and The Charlotte Observer. Ever since that report came out all I thought about from that point on is that we should see Cam Newton play some of his best football in his life for the rest of this career since his goal is Super Bowl championship. Just this past regular season Cam Newton threw 3,302 passing yards, threw 22 touchdowns, threw 16 touchdowns and rushed for 753 yards. The 753 rushing yards was actually a career-season high total for Newton. The fact that Cam Newton took his Panthers to the playoffs this year is pretty impressive because his receiving core this past year was worse than it was in 2015. But I would not be surprised whatsoever if the wide receivers that were on the team last year become better this year. The fact that Cam Newton's most productive wide receiver last year was Devin Funchess is pretty funny. Don't worry everybody I know that Tight End Greg Olsen is still on the team and Olsen is a good Tight End. I am not worry at all about the production of Greg Olsen. I know that even if Cam's wide receivers are not productive this year that he still has Olsen.

I like the fact that the Panthers acquired wide receivers Torrey Smith and Jarius Wright this offseason because both of those players just played in the NFC Championship this past season. Wright was on the Vikings last year and was considered the number three or four wide receiver on the team. Torrey Smith is a two time Super Bowl champion as he won it with the Ravens in the 2012 NFL season and he won it with the Philadelphia Eagles this past season. What I like about Smith is that ever since he left Baltimore he has accepted his role as a being a wide receiver that doesn't play every snap and he actually has become a better blocker in my mind.

With Julius Peppers getting a contract extension and the Panthers signing Da'Norris Searcey, Ross Cockrell and Dontari Poe, I am looking forward to see the Panthers defense again next season. We also still have to remember that the Panthers also still have Luke Kuechly, Captain Munnerlyn, Shaq Thompson, Thomas Davis Sr., James Bradberry and Mike Adams who all have the ability to ball out on defense.

The Panthers have a shot at winning the NFC South this year and if Cam Newton and the rest of the Carolina Panthers play well this team will find a way to achieve. After writing about these Panthers I can tell you right now that the Panthers are in the conversation of getting to the Super Bowl this year. I find it funny that I typed all this information about Cam Newton and the Carolina Panthers without mentioning their running back Christian McCaffery. And before I leave I have to tell you all that I have the utmost respect for McCaffery because he can run the football and catch the football and in my mind right now is considered one of the best running backs that can both run and catch with the football.

I am a Pittsburgh Steelers fan and I want the Steelers to win the Super Bowl over any other team. But if the Steelers do not win or make it to the Super Bowl, the one other team I would want to win is the Carolina Panthers.

5 views
bottom of page