top of page
  • BY Hilton

Travis's Week 4 Player of The Week; Thomas Jefferson Athlete: Daniel Deabner


Daniel Deabner is one of the star wide receivers for Thomas Jefferson.

Description

Name: Daniel Deabner

School: Thomas Jefferson

Sport: Football

Position: Wide Receiver and Cornerback

Class: Junior

Claim To Fame: Deabner had 7 receptions for 128 yards and 2 receiving touchdowns against Trinity in Week 4. Also, Deabner had a punt return for a touchdown against Trinity. Thomas Jefferson whooped Trinity 48-0 in Week 4.

Questions And Answers

What did you guys have going right in the game against Trinity?

Daniel Deabner: "We had everything going the way we planned. We ran the ball for big time plays and spread out the field by passing which gave us the option to do whatever we wanted. Even though we won, we have many things that need to be worked on if we want to keep our season going in the playoffs."

As of right now, your quarterback Shane Stump is known as one of the clutchest quarterbacks in the WPIAL. Describe to me your relationship with your quarterback Shane Stump.

DD: "Shane and I are very good friends; when it comes to game time we both have trust in each other that he will get the ball out to me and I will make a big play for him."

What is it like playing for head coach, Bill Cherpak?

DD: "He’s the best coach in the WPIAL and he makes sure that we are always ready for every play and coverage any team plays against us. He makes sure that each practice we have is harder then any game we will be in to make the game so much easier for us which has been working for our program since he has been coaching."

As a defensive back, who is the toughest opponent that you ever had to face against?

DD: "Erie Cathedral Prep’s receivers were by far the best I have had to cover. On top of that, they had one of the best quarterbacks in the state which made it even more difficult to cover."

As a wide receiver, who is the toughest opponent that you ever had to face against?

DD: "Erie Cathedral Prep’s defense was very hard to get the ball moving against."

How much would it mean to you if you were able to be a 4x WPIAL champ in your high school career of football?

DD: "That has been my goal since I was a freshman to be able to have win all four years in my career. But, for me and all my teammates we are never satisfied with just winning the WPIAL. Each year we have been stopped in the state playoffs and we are planning on changing that this year and the next."

Century lll Mall just closed recently. It was very close to the Thomas Jefferson school district. Did you have a favorite moment you had when you were there. Did you also have a favorite store there?

DD: "I never went to Century lll Mall that often but my favorite store that is still in business there is "Dick’s Sporting Goods" which I still go to. So, hopefully they don’t close too."

Say you were going to start writing down a "Bucket List". What would be the first thing you would write down on that list?

DD: "The first thing I would put on my bucket list would be to win states in my high school career. That has always been my dream and my team's dream. My team and I are doing everything to make that happen."

If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go and why?

DD: "If I could go anywhere in the world, it would be New York City. I’ve never been there before and I would enjoy going to the huge Nike store and all the other shoe stores there."

Which NFL team has surprised you the most so far this season? And, why?

DD: "The Dolphins have definitely surprised me the most considering they are in the same division as the Patriots. I do not think anyone would have expected them to be playing the way they are."

What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

DD: "Even though I’m from Pittsburgh, my favorite NFL team is the Atlanta Falcons. I’ve always wanted to go to a Falcons game and watch Julio Jones and Matt Ryan. They are both my favorite players on the team."

4 views
bottom of page