top of page
  • BY Hilton

Nick's Week 4 Player of The Week; McKeesport Athlete: Konota Gaskins


Konota Gaskins is making an impact for the McKeesport football team.

Description

Name: Konota Gaskins

School: McKeesport

Sport: Football

Position: Quarterback, Defensive Back and Kicker

Class: Senior

Claim To Fame: Gaskins completed 4 passes out of 5 passing attempts, threw 103 yards, threw 4 touchdowns and rushed for 92 yards in Week 4 against Plum. McKeesport defeated Plum 54-0.

Questions And Answers

What did you guys have going right in the game against Plum?

Konota Gaskins: "The passing game was connecting and we were also able to move the ball well on the ground well."

Talk about your relationship with your head coach Matt Miller.

KG: "Me and coach Matt Miller's relationship is great on and off the field. If there’s ever a problem or misunderstanding, he’s someone I know I could always go to for help or mentoring if I need it. Coach Miller is a great coach and an amazing man."

Name me one of your strengths on the football field. Also, tell me what you do in order to have that strength on the football field?

KG: "Able to know what everyone has to do on the field including myself. What helps me do this is studying a lot of film and pay attention in practice to what coach has infront of us."

Name me something that you could improve on the football field. Also, tell me how do you think you can overcome that weakness?

KG: "Making the proper triple read and practice on it more and more. How I can over come this is study the different front and stunts that I would be facing for that week to make the proper reads."

Let's just say a kid wants to play football; but, has never played the game before. The kid then goes up to you and ask, "What are the benefits of playing football?" How would you answer the kid?

KG: "Benefits of playing football is that it teaches you responsibilities and structures your character. Also, football teaches you how to be a man and to face adversity."

Which school do you think McKeesport has the biggest rivalry against when it comes to sports?

KG: "Either Gateway Or Penn-Trafford."

Do you own any pets?

KG: "I own a dog; his name is Benji. He is a Yorkey."

Who is your favorite substitute teacher at McKeesport high school?

KG: "Mr. Johnson"

When you graduate from McKeesport in 2019, how do you want people to remember you?

KG: " I want to be remembered as the kid with the big smile and big heart that was down to earth and always a people’s person."

What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

KG: "That I have a thing for all forms of art from Dancing, to Music, Drawing art etc. I can indeed draw as well."

7 views
bottom of page