top of page
  • BY Hilton

BY's Week 5 Player of The Week; Hampton Athlete: Harper Cook


Harper Cook, number 5, kicked the game winning field goal against Kiski Area in Week 5.

Description

Name: Harper Cook

School: Hampton

Sport: Football

Position: Kicker

Class: Senior

Claim To Fame: Harper kicked the game winning field goal to give Hampton their second win of the season against Kiski Area 34-31.

Questions And Answers

There must have been a lot of pressure on you to kick the game winning field goal. You were able to do it. How did it feel to help your team win the game?

Harper Cook: "It felt great to help win the game. I know how hard everyone worked for that win."

Have you ever kicked a game winning field goal before the game against Kiski?

HC: "Yes, I kicked the game-winner against Baldwin last year to give us a 10-9 win."

You also play soccer and committed to Rutgers University in June. What made you choose to commit there?

HC: "Rutgers made me feel like I was the guy they needed. They knew what they wanted and I liked that a lot. I visited campus and saw the facilities; I was immediately blown away."

Let's switch the conversation over to WPIAL soccer for a minute. Hampton's soccer team is doing really well right now as you guys have a conference record of 8-2. What have you guys been doing right to have success so far?

HC: "We’ve defended very well this year, and recently we’ve started to put balls in the net."

What is the difference between kicking a football and kicking a soccer ball?

HC: "When you kick a football, you want to get the ball up in the air. In soccer, you want to keep your shoulders over the ball so it’s more driven."

Who is your favorite NFL kicker? Also, who is your favorite soccer player?

HC: "Boswell, I’m a Steelers fan. My favorite soccer player is Kevin de Bruyne."

Besides football and soccer, do you play any other sports?

HC: "Yes, I play Lacrosse for Hampton too."

Which school do you think Hampton has the biggest rivalry against when it comes to sports?

HC: "Mars"

What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

HC: " During my freshman year I drove to Columbus, Ohio to play for a MLS Academy team, Columbus Crew."

23 views
bottom of page