top of page
  • BY Hilton

BY's Week 9 Player of The Week; New Brighton Athlete: Ashton Fath


Ashton Fath has been making plays, this year, for New Brighton

Description

Name: Ashton Fath

School: New Brighton

Sport: Football

Position: Running Back and Strong Safety

Class: Senior

Claim To Fame: Fath scored two touchdowns; his second touchdown happened to be the game winning touchdown as New Brighton defeated Riverside 22-16. New Brighton has qualified for 2018 WPIAL football playoffs.

Questions And Answers:

What did you guys do right in the win over Riverside?

Ashton Fath: "We adjusted to the mud early, and had a clutch defensive stop and scored right before the half. We, then made good adjustments in the second half to stop them on defense."

How did it feel scoring the game winning touchdown in the last game of the regular season?

AF: "My head was in the clouds; but, I got over it quick once I realized they still had a minute left and we had to get the last stop to win."

Your team did not win a single section game last year and did not make the playoffs. What is different about your team this year than last year?

AF: "A lot of guys stepped up big time and there was a lot more leadership this year. Weight lifting in the off-season was also huge for us because we knew we had to be stronger."

Back in Early August, the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette predicted that your team would finish last in the section. You guys stunned them as your team finished 3rd in the section. So, how did it feel to prove the Pittsburgh-Post Gazette wrong?

AF: "It felt great, we knew we had a lot to prove and a lot of people to prove wrong this season."

With playoffs coming up on Friday, what do you expect out of you and your team?

AF: "I expect us to come out strong and start early. We got to play all 4 quarters as hard as we can."

You guys play football in 2A. Let's be honest; it seems that the rest of the media don't focus on all the other lower football schools in 3A, 2A and 1A. Why do you think schools in the lower classifications don't get enough attention and credit?

AF: "I think that lower classes don’t get enough credit and attention because people are too focused on big teams and big named players. As well as 1A and 2A not playing their WPIAL Games at Heinz anymore."

Tell me someone that has had an impact on your life.

AF: "My dad has had a huge impact on my life, from since I was a twerp. He has taught me the way of the game and has made me the player that I am today."

Who is your favorite NFL player? And, why?

AF: "My favorite player is Walter Payton; he made huge plays, even if it was just a 1 yard run. He’s also why I wear the number 34."

What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

AF: "I am a lefty at everything I do."

30 views
bottom of page