top of page
  • BY Hilton

Nick's 2nd Round of WPIAL Playoff Football Player of The Week; Freedom Area Athlete: Cody Ross


Source: Cody Ross @43Legacy (Twitter)

Description

Name: Cody Ross

School: Freedom Area

Sport: Football

Position: Linebacker and Fullback

Class: Senior

Claim To Fame: Cody scored the only touchdown for Freedom and recovered a fumble late in the game to help Freedom defeat Burgettstown 7-6 in the second round of the WPIAL 2A football playoffs.

Questions And Answers

What did you guys do right in the win over Burgettstown?

Cody Ross: "We wanted to be able to run the ball, and own the time of possession. We also wanted to play sound defense. We felt we matched up well with them. We’ve been playing great defensively, going into the game everyone talked about how great their defense was, we wanted to show everyone that we have a great defensive unit as well."

On Friday, you guys will play Steel Valley in the third round at Montour High School. What does your team have to do to make sure you beat them?

CR: "Steel Valley is a very good football team. Coach Steele has them playing well and they got some good players; especially Todd Hill. We just have to play our game and limit our mistakes like turnovers, and penalties."

As an athlete, such as yourself, what do you usually do to stay calm and not get nervous before football games?

CR: "I don’t think I’m ever calm before a game; but, I like to listen to my playlist and just talk to my teammates about what we got to do for each game."

You are a football player; what does your diet consist of?

CR: "I’m a huge protein guy. Plus I love pasta. I burn so much weight during the season that I’m always trying to stick to healthy foods during the season."

What has been the biggest thing that your team has learned as the season has progressed?

CR: "If we stick together, and play together, anything is possible. I’m so blessed to play with a special senior group like Rosa, Pail, Boyer, Yeck, Henderson, and DiNardo. We all have that "Team First" mentality."

Some seniors might decide to play a new sport in their senior year for fun. Would you consider about playing any other sport for one year in your senior year of high school? Even, if it helps you get in better football shape?

CR: "I’ve been tossing around going back to basketball. I always like playing that sport; but, I haven’t played basketball in the past two years."

Which school do you think Freedom has the biggest rivalry against when it comes to sports?

CR: "Without a question it’s always New Brighton. You don’t realize how heated it is until it’s New Brighton week each year. I’ve been lucky that in my three years at Freedom we’ve never lost to them and some of my best games have been against them."

What was your first reaction when you heard about all the wildfires in California?

CR: "It’s sad to see the effect it’s having on the people there losing everything they have and for the wildlife out there. My prayers are with them."

Who is the coolest celebrity that you have ever met?

CR: "I’ve been blessed since an early age because of my grandfather being a coach and my father coaching, I’ve got to meet some great athletes; but, my favorite was actually having a chance to talk with Troy Polamalu at Steelers camp one year. We just talked about football."

What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

CR: "I’m a very private person. I like to just chill at home a lot with family and friends. I’m also a huge movie person."

11 views
bottom of page