top of page
  • BY Hilton

BY's 4th Round of WPIAL Playoff Football Player of The Week; Steel Valley Athlete: Kam Williams


Source: Trib Live HSSN

Kam Williams holds up the WPIAL 2A Football trophy on Saturday November 24th 2018 at Robert Morris University.

Description

Name: Kam Williams

School: Steel Valley

Sport: Football

Position: Running Back And Linebacker

Class: Senior

Claim To Fame: Williams rushed for 196 yards, ran for 3 touchdowns, caught 4 passes and recorded 104 receiving yards in a 48-6 win over South Side Beaver in the WPIAL 2A Football championship game.

Questions And Answers

How does it feel being a WPIAL Champion?

Kam Williams: "It feels great."

What did you guys do right in the win over South Side Beaver?

KW: "We came out with coach’s game plan to play physical and who ever wanted it more would win."

Your team will play Wilmington on Friday in the semifinals round of the PIAA 2A Football playoffs. What does your team have to do to beat them on Friday?

KW: "Play together and put it all out on the field."

Your team has only 17 players on the roster. The fact that there are not many players on the team and you guys were able to win a WPIAL championship is pretty impressive. What does that fact tell about your team?

KW: "We all love each other like brothers and we always stick together."

Describe to me how your high school football career has formed.

KW: "I played my freshman year; I took my sophomore year off to figure out what I wanted to do. I came back my junior year and playing with my boys turned out to be a lot of fun."

Does the fact that having another star running back such as Todd Hill, help decrease the pressure that is on your shoulders?

KW: "I mean I wouldn’t say decrease the pressure; it just makes it fun knowing Todd in the back with me makes the games more fun."

The high school basketball season does not begin until December. Who do you think is the best Boys' WPIAL basketball player going into this season?

KW: "Camden Polak (Junior at Steel Valley)"

What is your favorite board game?

KW: "Monopoly"

What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

KW: "I'm good at basketball."

9 views
bottom of page