top of page
  • BY Hilton

BY's PIAA Football Semifinals Player of The Week; Aliquippa Athlete: Xavier Harvey


Xavier Harvey continues to make plays for Aliquippa's football team.

Source: Beaver County Times

Description

Name: Xavier Harvey

School: Aliquippa

Sport: Football

Position: Cornerback And Running Back

Class: Senior

Claim To Fame: Harvey rushed for 141 yards in a 41-7 win over Sharon in the PIAA 3A football semifinals round.

Questions And Answers

What did you guys do right in the win over Sharon?

Xavier Harvey: "We stayed together as a team while playing without one of best running backs in the WPIAL. Honestly, we just kept faith in each other."

In this game, did the absence of Avante McKenzie make you feel that their was more weight on your shoulders?

XH: "Yeah, I can say a lot of people were expecting me to do very good."

Your team will have a chance in winning a state championship on Saturday against Middletown. What does your team have to do to win?

XH: "Same as we did these last 2 games."

What would a state championship mean to the Aliquippa community?

XH: "It would mean the most to Aliquippa because we want to make history and make up for the last 2 years we should have been there."

Describe to me a typical football practice day at Aliquippa High School.

XH: "We do offense for 30 minutes or so and defense for 30 minutes or so then go inside the field house and watch film for about a hour and they feed us while we do that and then we go home and repeat it over again the next day."

Back in November you got accepted to Youngstown University. Is there a possibility that you would like to play football there?

XH: "Yes, I would like to. I have been trying to find a way to get in contact with their coach so I could talk to him about it."

If you had to guess, which college football team do you think will become the national champion of the NCAA Division I Football Bowl Subdivision in January?

XH: "I like Alabama. So, I'm going to go with Alabama. ROLL CRIMSON TIDE ROLL."

You’re a 175-pound running back. What NFL player is Xavier Harvey’s style most like?

XH: "I get compared to LeVeon Bell, a lot."

If you could have any superpower, what would it be and why?

XH: "I would want to teleport because it gets me to my destination faster and I wouldn’t have to worry about driving."

What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

XH: "People would be surprise to know that I like soccer; but, never played soccer a day in my life."

4 views
bottom of page