top of page
  • BY Hilton

Nick's CoverThreeAthletics Athletes of the Week: CJ Cole and Courtney Tomas


Source: Observer- Reporter

Description

Name: CJ Cole

School: McGuffey

Sport: Basketball

Position: Shooting Guard/Shooting Forward

Class: Junior

Claim To Fame: In the week of 12/16/18 - 12/22/18, Cole scored 47 points against Frazier, and 23 points against Southmoreland.

Questions And Answers

So, tell me how you got first interested in the game of basketball.

CC: "My parents really introduced basketball to me. Neither of them played; but, I was a wrestler in 1st grade. I was good; but, I just didn’t enjoy it as much as I would’ve like to. I wanted to play a Winter Sport. So, in second grade I got a basketball hoop, and signed up and I’ve loved playing ever since."

Is the 47 points against Frazier, the most points you ever scored in a WPIAL basketball game?

CC: "Yes, my previous career high was 31, but; yes 47 is the most I’ve scored in a WPIAL game."

Your team has started the season good as you guys have a section record of 3-0. What has gone right for your team?

CC: "We are a team, is one of the main reasons. We don’t care who is scoring, we just care about the end result. As a team, we hadn’t had much experience in terms of playing varsity basketball; but, we have gone through learning curves early on and it has helped in our section games. We also take pride in our team defense, we want to hold teams to as little points as we can. We figure that if we can do that we will always have a chance to win."

Describe to me the basketball culture at McGuffey.

CC: "The culture has changed drastically in the past 7 years ever since Coach Fatigante came in. The program really turned around, and my freshman year we went to states and won our schools first ever playoff game. Last year, we once again had a winning recorded and a strong season. Many people think of McGuffey Basketball as a joke, and frankly we like that. We love being the underdog with people looking at us like that; but, McGuffey is definitely becoming more of a Basketball school with the success that we have had recently."

You play basketball and football. If you had to play one of the sports at the college level, which one would you choose?

CC: "I’m a multi-sport athlete. I love competing, and playing in both. Basketball makes me a lot better as a football player, as football does for basketball. I want to play both as long as I can; so, right now I’m leaving my options open. My goal for right now is being the best I can be, in order to help my team win."

Which school do you think McGuffey has the biggest rivalry against when it comes to sports?

CC: "Wash High, I don’t think this is a surprise. I can drive to their school in 10 minutes; so, them being so close, we don’t really like each other to be honest. We have played each other in basketball and football since we were young; so, that also adds some tension."

This season, who do you think is the best Girls WPIAL basketball player?

CC: "This season, there are some dominant girls basketball players; but, up to this point I would have to go with Makenna Marisa (Peters Township), she can do it all, and can really light up the scoreboard."

Favorite video game?

CC: "When I get to play, I like playing either NBA 2k or Madden."

What is something that you would like to have for Christmas?

CC: "Santa can’t bring it to me; but, it would be a nice Christmas present if we could win the Avella Christmas Tournament."

What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

CC: "C.J. Stands for Craig James."

Source: Big 56 Athletic Conferences

Description

Name: Courtney Tomas

School: Montour

Sport: Basketball

Position: Guard/Forward

Class: Senior

Claim To Fame: In the week of 12/16/18 - 12/22/18, Tomas scored 13 points against Chartiers Valley, 36 points against Taylor Allderdice and 12 points against Trinity. So, Tomas scored a total of 61 points in the last three games.

Questions And Answers

So, tell me how you got first interested in the game of basketball.

CT: "I was in 4th grade and my dad volunteered to be the coach; so, I decided to give it a try and have loved it ever since."

You also played soccer in your high school career at Montour. This WPIAL soccer season, you did not play soccer. What was the reason you did not play?

CT: "It was a hard decision to make; but, last year during the end of soccer season, I hurt my ankle and was out for 6 weeks. It delayed my comeback to basketball during my junior year, So, I thought it was best to not risk getting hurt again."

Your basketball team is currently 0-3 in the WPIAL Class 5A Section 1, what does your team have to do to bounce back?

CT: "We are a very young team; but, we will continue to progress and work hard throughout the season, and I see some wins in our future."

In your high school career, who is the best player that you have ever gone up against?

CT: "Jenna Clark (Thomas Jefferson)"

You verbally committed to Seton Hill University back on November 1st 2018. What made you choose Seton Hill?

CT: "I fell in love with the campus right away and the coaches made me feel at home since the first time I’ve met them. I know a lot of girls on the team and it feels like a family away from home. It was the best fit for me."

What is your favorite Christmas movie?

CT: "Christmas Vacation (1989)"

Favorite Christmas song?

CT: "Jingle Bell Rock"

This season, who do you think is the best Boys WPIAL basketball player?

CT: "Ethan Morton (Butler)"

Which school do you think Montour has the biggest rivalry against when it comes to sports?

CT: "West Allegheny"

What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

CT: "I like making cookies."

14 views
bottom of page