top of page
  • BY Hilton

Pine Richland's Joey Lagnese


Joey Lagnese (12), is the Varsity Boys Basketball manager at Pine-Richland High School.

Source: @PRRamsHoops

Description:

Name: Joey Lagnese

School: Pine-Richland

Grade: 12

Position: Varisty Boys Basketball Manager

Class: Senior

Questions And Answers:

As a basketball manager, tell me some of the things you do for the team.

Joey Lagnese: "During days we have practice, I would get there early to put down the hoops and get the shooting guns up. After that I would get the balls out and get the speaker out. Once the team starts practice I will play music until coach starts going over the game plan for the next opponent. The last thing we do during practice is shoot free throws so I will help rebound and play some music. Once practice is over I will take the guns down and put the balls and speaker away. After that Dan Petcash usually will get some extra shots up after practice so I will stay after practice and rebound for him. The day before a game I will make sure everything is packed up in the valuable bag which includes all of the iPad, scorebooks, markers , etc. Also, I have to pack up 6 balls in the ball bag for when the team warms up before a game. During game day, I will pack everything up on the bus. Before the game I do all of the handshakes with the starters which is one of my favorite things I do. Any time there’s a timeout or someone is getting subbed out I will have a water and towel ready for them."

What do you enjoy about being the manager for the team?

JL: "I enjoy just being apart of a great program with all of my friends. It’s been a great experience."

What has been your memory as a manager for the Pine-Richland Boys Varisty basketball team?

JL: "I would have to say either when Greg Shulkolsky hit the game winner against Allderdice in the state playoffs last year or when Collin Luellen hit the game winner against Peters Township in the first round of the WPIAL playoffs, this year."

You announced on your Twitter that you are countinue to basketball manager career at Bowling Green State Univeristy. Are you excited to start?

JL: "Yes I’m very excited. I’ve visited there twice and the arena is so nice and the coaches are great. I’m glad I could continue to be a manager at the next level."

Pine-Richland has produced a lot of great athletes and your school has been known to winning a lot of WPIAL championships. Why do you think Pine-Richland is such a good sports school?

JL: "I think people just have different mind sets at Pine-Richland. Everyone works so hard and they are working on there game everyday of the year. A lot of people put there workouts on Twitter; but, champions are made when no one is watching and you don’t see all of the work kids at Pine Richland put in when no one is watching. That’s why we are such a successful sports school."

Who do you think is the most underrated WPIAL athlete?

JL: "Greg Shulkolsky (Pine-Richland) without a doubt. Greg in the summer comes to every basketball practice while having soccer in the summer too. Right when soccer is over, Greg is back in the gym and one of the best players in the gym immediately. Greg was a 4 year varsity starter in soccer and play in big games his sophomore year in basketball and started the past two seasons in basketball. Greg is also doing track this year and will definitely be a beast at it too."

What do you think makes Jeff Ackermann a great high school basketball coach?

JL: "He just cares about the team so much. He watches a ton of film and is always prepared for the opponent. Coach is very good at taking a player away or exposing a bad defensive player."

What was your reaction when you heard that Pittsburgh Steelers wide receiver, Antonio Brown, was traded to the Oakland Raiders?

JL: "I was happy to see him go. I think it was time for a new start. He was a great receiver; but, was not a guy you want in the locker room. I hope we can package some of our picks to move up in the draft to get a good LB or DB."

What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

JL: "I have my own landscaping company for work in the summer."

BY Hilton: bythebossandgoat@gmail.com and Twitter @BYHilton13

26 views
bottom of page