top of page
  • BY Hilton

Hollis Mathis: High School Graduate


Former Penn Hills quarterback, Hollis Mathis, celebrates after getting a first down against West Allegheny in the 2018 WPIAL 5A football championship game.

Source: Pittsburgh Sports Now

The last time that we talked to Hollis Mathis was in August 2018. Before the 2018 WPIAL football season started, Mathis expected his Penn Hills football team to play hard each and every week. That's exactly what Mathis's team did.

In November 2018, Penn Hills won a WPIAL 5A football championship. This was Penn Hills fifth WPIAL football championship in school history. Also, in December 2018, Penn Hills won a PIAA 5A football championship. This was Penn Hills second PIAA football championship in school history.

We recently talked to Hollis Mathis and we asked him some questions since he is officially a high school graduate from Penn Hills.

Questions and Answers

How does it feel to be done with high school?

Hollis Mathis: "Bitter sweet, I’m glad to be able to have the milestone, and the things I’ve accomplished through high school. But, I’m going to miss all my friends I’ve grown up with, and my community. So bitter sweet for sure."

In your senior year, you won a WPIAL and PIAA football championship. Tell me what those championships mean to you.

HM: "It means a lot. It meant a lot because I saw what it’s done for my community. I’ve had people around here recognize me and tell me what it’s meant to finally hoist another state trophy. I understand that some things are just bigger than football. It was great to see all the hard work me and my teammates did pay off. I was glad to be able to put such a historic community back on top."

At one point you verbally committed to Howard University. Then, you switched to William and Mary College. What made you switch?

HM: "When I was introduced to The College of William and Mary by coach London, I fell in love instantly. The school and the campus is amazing and it was a great fit. I absolutely couldn’t pass up the opportunity to play for a great offensive mind like coach Marion. However, I appreciate all the love Howard gave me, and that they gave me home. I don’t like to go back on my word, but I feel like I’ve done what was best for me and my family."

How excited are you to get onto the football field and play football at the college level?

HM: "It’s been a dream of mine since I started playing football, to play at this level. I’ve worked extremely hard this off-season to put myself in best shape possible to give myself a chance to touch the field. So, I’m really excited to see my progression as an athlete and person in college."

Besides Penn Hills, which WPIAL high school do you think has the nicest football stadium?

HM: "Woodland Hills, they have a really nice turf and the stands are huge. It’s a historic stadium too. A lot of great battles between our teams and a rivalry I’m upset we didn’t get to revive this past season because I would’ve loved to play a Friday night game there."

What is your favorite movie?

HM: "Bad Boys 2, I loved to watch The Fresh Prince of Bel-Air and Martin, so it was cool to see both of my favorite comedians (Will Smith and Martin Lawrence) in a great action film."

During your time at Penn Hills High School, what is one thing that happened at the high school that would surprise people?

HM: "A thing that even surprised me was before we left for Hershey, me and my teammates went and toured the younger schools with the WPIAL trophy and our medals. I liked to be able see the impact we had on some of the younger athletes and I didn’t even know we could or would do something like that."

BY Hilton: bythebossandgoat@gmail.com and Twitter @BYHilton13

20 views
bottom of page