top of page
  • BY Hilton

CoverThreeAthletics 2019 WPIAL Football Player Spotlight: Day 1 (Ray Holmes)


Ray Holmes pushes a Seton LaSalle football player down to the ground.

SOURCE: Ray Holmes (HUDL)

Ray Holmes will be a 4-year member of the Serra Catholic football team next season. He is looking to have a big senior year in 2019. We got to ask Ray some questions before the start of the 2019 WPIAL football season.

Description

Name: Ray Holmes

School: Serra Catholic

Sport: Football

Position: Running Back and Defensive End

Class: 2020

Questions & Answers

What are the expectations for Serra Catholic's football team in 2019?

Ray Holmes: "We are expecting a winning season. My expectations for the team is a WPIAL championship appearance."

Khalil Smith rushed for a respectable 886 yards last season for your team. Do you feel that with him gone that the team is going to rely on you in the rushing game?

RH: "Yes, they will rely on me. Expect a 1,000+ yard season from me this year."

You also play defensive end. What's it like playing two positions in football, especially on both sides of the field?

RH: "It’s normal to me. I’ve been doing it my whole life. I do a lot of practice to prepare for it."

If you had to choose to between playing running back or defensive end in college, which would you think you would choose?

RH: "I would go with where ever I'm needed on that team because I like to play both positions. I love to score for my team, and I love to smack ball carriers. If I got to choose in college it would be a tough decision; I would probably go with running back."

Are there any colleges that you are interested to play college football at?

RH: "Waynesburg University, Pitt, Penn State, West Virginia, Youngstown State, Akron, and Wisconsin."

If you did not attend Serra Catholic, what public high school would you have attended?

RH: "Penn Hills High School"

If you had to choose one other WPIAL football to come play for Serra Catholic, next season, who would it be and why?

RH: "Diontae Givens (Sto-Rox High School, Class of 2021) because he’s a hard worker. He can lead the young guys at Serra Catholic."

So far, what was your favorite 2019 NBA offseason free agent signing?

RH: " Kyrie Irving & Kevin Durant signing with the Brooklyn Nets."

Tell us something that people would be surprised to know about you.

RH: " I work out three times a day during the summer, and two times a day during the school year."

BY Hilton: bythebossandgoat@gmail.com and Twitter @BYHilton13

18 views
bottom of page