top of page
  • BY Hilton

CoverThreeAthletics 2019 WPIAL Football Player Spotlight: Day 12 (AJ Beatty)


AJ Beatty is wearing a University of North Carolina football jersey.

SOURCE: Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

AJ Beatty verbally committed to play NCAA Division 1 football at the University of North Carolina on June 9th, 2019. Beatty, senior, will try to help Central Catholic win a WPIAL football title in the fall. He hopes to win his first WPIAL football championship in his high school career. According to the website, 247 Sports, Beatty is ranked the 40th best defensive end in the country, the first best defensive end in the state of Pennsylvania, and the sixth highly recruited football player in the state of Pennsylvania.

Player Profile

Name: AJ Beatty

School: Central Catholic

Sport: Football

Position: Defensive End & Tight End

Class: 2020

Questions & Answers

What are the expectations for Central Catholic's football team in 2019?

AJ Beatty: "We are expecting to win a WPIAL championship and nothing less than that."

Do you think the team will rely on you more in 2019 than they did in 2018?

AB: "I don’t think the team will rely on anyone in particular this year. We are a well-balanced team that is filled with seniors. We have a lot of experience; especially, on the offensive and defensive line that will contribute to us winning the 4th quarter in every game.​"

You verbally committed to the University of North Carolina to play NCAA Division 1 Men's football. What made you pick that school?

AB: "They made my family and I feel like home there. I really wanted to go somewhere where the degree means something in this country. I felt that UNC had both education, and athletics to check my boxes for what I ultimately wanted. Also, I really wanted to go south and play football; so, that was a big bonus for UNC too.​"

You will play Bethel Park for the second straight time this season. What was it like beating them last season? And, how badly do you want to beat them again this season?

AB: "Honestly, I just look at it as another game. It was fun to win against them; but, just as much fun as winning against anyone else. They’re a good team with a lot of talent. I think this year's game will be a great game.​"

As a defensive end, what do you think you could improve on?

AB: "Learning and adding a few more moves to make it harder for the tackle to guess what move I’m going to do."

What's it like attending a high school with no females?

AB: "It’s pretty rough."

Favorite TV Show?

AB: "Stranger Things"

Name me a song that can get you hyped before a football game.

AB: "Dreams and Nightmares by Meek Mill"

Tell me something that people would be surprised to know about you.

AB: "I played lacrosse my entire life up until 10th grade. Then, I had to stop because I was losing too much weight. It’s my favorite sport along with football."

BY Hilton: bythebossandgoat@gmail.com and Twitter @BYHilton13

20 views
bottom of page