top of page
  • BY Hilton

CoverThreeAthletics 2019 WPIAL Football Player Spotlight: Day 14 (Jayson Jenkins)


Jayson Jenkins is the first kicker that we have interviewed in our 2019 CoverThreeAthletics WPIAL Football Player Spotlight.

SOURCE: Jayson Jenkins (HUDL)

Jayson Jenkins is a field goal kicker at Gateway High School. He will be a junior in the fall and will try to help Gateway win another WPIAL football championship. He won a WPIAL football championship at Gateway in 2017. The fact that he was the starting field goal kicker, since he was a freshman in 2017, shows that he has a lot of experience.

Player Profile

Name: Jayson Jenkins

School: Gateway

Sport: Football

Position: Kicker & Punter

Class: 2021

Highlights: Full Hudl Profile

Questions & Answers

What are the expectations for Gateway's football team in 2019?

Jayson Jenkins: "We expect to do well in our conference and make it back to states, like we did in 2017."

Describe to me the football culture at Gateway?

JJ: "We are a brotherhood, and we stick together as a family."

Your twin sister, Joelle, is also a field goal kicker. What's it like having your twin sister play on the same football team?

JJ: "It is cool because, how many players have their best friend and their sister to play on the team?"

Would you like to be a field goal kicker in college?

JJ: "Most certainly, that would be a dream of mine to be a field goal kicker at the next level."

Favorite NFL field goal kicker?

JJ: "Chris Boswell, and as a punter, Marquette King (as I plan to be a punter this year)."

You also play Boys basketball at Gateway. What's it like being a multi-sport athlete?

JJ: "It is a lot of work; but I love to play many sports and it keeps me focus on school."

Which schools do you think Gateway has the biggest rivalry against, involving sports?

JJ: "McKeesport and Penn-Trafford."

Tell me someone that inspires you.

JJ: "My family because they are my biggest supporters."

Tell me something that people would be surprised to know about you.

JJ: "I am right handed; but I kick with my left foot. My sister, Joelle, is left handed but kicks with her right foot."

BY Hilton: bythebossandgoat@gmail.com and Twitter @BYHilton13

27 views
bottom of page