top of page
  • BY Hilton

CoverThreeAthletics 2019 WPIAL Football Player Spotlight: Day 15 (Ben Tenuta)


Ben Tenuta stands in position during a high school football game in 2018. 

SOURCE: Ben Tenuta (HUDL)

Ben Tenuta is looking to have a big senior year at Belle Vernon. Last season, Belle Vernon finished in second place in their section with a 6-1 record; but lost to South Fayette in the second round of the WPIAL 4A playoffs by a score of 28-10. 

Player Profile

Name: Ben Tenuta

School: Belle Vernon

Sport: Football

Position: Linebacker 

Class: 2020

Highlights: Full Hudl Profile

Questions & Answers

What are the expectations for Belle Vernon's football team in 2019?

Ben Tenuta: "Our goal and expectation is to always win our conference first, then a WPIAL championship. We have a lot of returning starters coming back. I’ll be a second-year starter; but we have players like Jared Hartman, Hunter Ruokonen, Nolan Labuda, Larry Callaway, and Andrew Pacak who have been playing since they were freshman. In addition, we have younger players like sophomore, Devin Whitlock, who can play and contribute. So, I believe we have the talent and experience to compete for a championship!"

What would a WPIAL football championship mean to Belle Vernon?

BT: "It would mean the world to win a WPIAL championship to our team, school and the entire Belle Vernon Area community. The last time we won was 24 years ago in 1995. So, we are very hungry to win a Football championship!"

What is the football culture like at Belle Vernon?

BT: "Our culture is one of family. We are brothers with a special bond that can’t be broken. We work hard, and like a family, we support and hold each other accountable. We all understand it takes a team and everyone “Doing their job" to win."

Do you think there is anything that you can do to improve your game as a linebacker?

BT: "Last year was my first season as a starting linebacker. Our coaches have always told us that no matter how good you are or think you are, there is always room for improvement. That has always stuck with me. especially last year. I felt like I got stronger as the season went on with every start. So, I would say there is never just one thing you can work on; but instead you always need to work on all aspects of your game in order to get better and improve your skills if you want to be the best at your position."

Most high school football fields are green. Not that many high school football fields are gold. Belle Vernon's football field is gold. It looks pretty tough! How cool is it to practice and play on a gold field?

BT: "Playing a home game is always an advantage. Playing at Belle Vernon in front of our home crowd on our gold field is not only an advantage; but special! There’s no field like it anywhere in the country and we call it the beach! Our motto is, “Protect the Beach”, it is definitely a home field advantage and why we have had so much success winning at home."

Last season, Mason Pascoe was the lead rusher for your team. What was it like playing with him?

BT: "Mason was not only my teammate, but also my neighbor. So, I got an opportunity to know him both on and off the field. He was our biggest offense weapon the last two years, and he definitely will be missed. He works hard, plays hard. and he’s a tremendous player. He is also as great of a person as he is an athlete. I wish him the best playing football, at the next level, in college."

Tell me a funny moment that has occurred at Belle Vernon High School, during your time there?

BT: "I really can’t think of only one funny moment; there has been so many! I will say though that going to Belle Vernon High School has been a lot of fun for me. The friendships I’ve made. the good times spent with friends and laughs we have shared I will always remember and cherish."

The high school basketball season does not begin until December. Who do you think is the best Boys' WPIAL basketball player going into the 2019-20 season?

BT: "I’ll be honest I am not real familiar with all the basketball players playing in the WPIAL. However, I am very familiar with our Belle Vernon basketball team. We have a lot of great hoop players, many of which are also my football teammates; so, I know them very well. As in football, we also have high expectations for our basketball team too. We have a lot of great athletes who will contribute to wining this season; but if I had to single one player out it would be senior Cam Nusser. I believe how Cam goes. so will the team. If he has a great year the rest of the team will follow. 2019-20 should be a great year for both football and basketball at Belle Vernon!"

Tell me something that people would be surprised to know about you.

BT: "I am one of the lead anchors for Belle Vernon Area TV. I am not only in front of the camera; but I am also behind the scenes too. I really enjoy making and creating news stories, documentary videos, music videos, highlight films, and doing a lot of video editing. I plan to major in Broadcasting/media and video productions in college."

BY Hilton: bythebossandgoat@gmail.com and Twitter @BYHilton13

20 views
bottom of page