top of page
  • BY Hilton

BY's 2019 Week 0 WPIAL Football Player Of The Week: Ethan Dahlem (Upper St. Clair)


Upper St. Clair quarterback, Ethan Dahlem, attempts to throw a pass during a Week 0 matchup against South Fayette.

SOURCE: Pittsburgh Post-Gazette

Player Profile

Name: Ethan Dahlem School: Upper St. Clair Sport: Football Position: Quarterback Class: 2021 Claim To Fame: Dahlem threw 160 yards, rushed for 104 yards, and scored 3 touchdowns in a 27-13 win against South Fayette in Week 0. This was his first game as the starting quarterback for the Upper St. Clair Panthers.

Questions & Answers

You got your first win as the starting quarterback for Upper St. Clair. How did you feel after the big road victory?

Ethan Dahlem: "I’ve never been so excited in my life. Being able to make plays for my team when it counted was special for me. Playing alongside my brothers is the best. We all laid it out on the line to get the win. I couldn’t have done it without them. Friday Night Lights is the best feeling!"

Your team plays Peters Township on Friday. What does your team have to do to get the win?

Ethan Dahlem: "We have to execute on every side of the ball whether it is offense, defense, and special teams. Everyone must do their job and not try to be a hero. Also, I think we have to beat them on the line with our physicality. Then, we get them going fast to get them gassed in the later quarters. If we accomplish those things, I think we can win."

Peters seems to be the favorite to win your section. How much do you want to prove to people that you are better than Peters?

Ethan Dahlem: "I think this is a great opportunity for us to show how good we are. Everyone in the off-season has doubted us, and this gives us a chip on our shoulder. This is our chance to prove people wrong."

What do you like about playing quarterback?

Ethan Dahlem: "Being a quarterback comes with a lot of pressure. This is because everyone counts on you to make plays and get the team going. I think that’s what gets me going for the games. The people around me drive my energy, and I love them like family. I’m glad I’m apart of this team, and I'm thankful that I can help."

Before the 2019 season, in the previous two seasons, Jack Hansberry and Jason Sweeney were the starting quarterbacks for Upper St. Clair. Did you learn anything from them, during their time there?

Ethan Dahlem: "Both of them are great people. I’m grateful that I’m able to follow in their footsteps and take charge. Each of them told me something about their style of play. I take advice from each of them to better my play."

Talk to me about your relationship with your new head coach, Mike Junko.

Ethan Dahlem: "Coach Junko and I are close with each other. He knows the game at a very high level. He has helped and changed me into the player I am today. He does so much I could keep going on and on about him."

Even though you guys have only played one game so far this season, do you notice a difference between this year's team and last year's team?

Ethan Dahlem: "I think this year, our work ethic as team is better than last year. I also think that we have a chip on our shoulder since we aren’t highly ranked."

Fill in the blanks: At the end of the 2019 WPIAL and PIAA football season, Ethan Dahlem ________.

Ethan Dahlem: "Will be recognized among others and be respected by his play."

Tell me something that people would be surprised to know about you.

Ethan Dahlem: "I have lazy eye in my left eye."

BY Hilton: bythebossandgoat@gmail.com and Twitter @BYHilton13

16 views
bottom of page