top of page
  • BY Hilton

BY's 2019 Week 1 WPIAL Football Player Of The Week: Dom Pieto (Central Catholic)


Central Catholic quarterback, Dom Pieto (3), celebrates after rushing for a touchdown against Seneca Valley on August 30, 2019.

SOURCE: TRIB LIVE HSSN

Player Profile

Name: Dom Pieto

School: Central Catholic

Sport: Football

Position: Quarterback

Class: 2020

Claim To Fame: Pieto rushed for a 2-yard touchdown with 0:28 left in the fourth quarter against Seneca Valley in Week 1. It was the game winning play as the road team, Central Catholic, defeated Seneca Valley by a score of 10-7.

Questions & Answers

Take me through your game winning touchdown run.

Dom Pieto: "On the sideline waiting to get the play, Coach Flem asked if I liked the call for a naked boot. I told him I love it. The only people who knew the call were Coach, Dontre Jones and me. I knew I had to sell the fake hard because this was our last chance. After getting to the edge and seeing open field, my eyes lit up. The best moment of all was hearing the Seneca Valley crowd go quiet as our student section and fans went crazy. It was honestly a moment I will remember forever."

Your teammate Luke Robson suffered another injury on Friday against Seneca Valley. We wish him the best of luck in his recovery. Could you tell me how he is doing?

DP: "Obviously he is hurting. After coming back from two season ending knee injuries, it seems so unfair to have another injury take away his senior season. Luke's a fighter; he will get through this with the support of his amazing family and friends along with our entire team rallying behind him."

What does your team have to do on Friday to beat North Allegheny?

DP: "We have to stay within ourselves. Our team has played two games, and still hasn't played our best football. If we can focus on what we have to do and execute our game plan we will be a tough team to beat every week, no matter who is lined up against us."

A lot of people in the media think that Central Catholic is "The Favorites" to win in WPIAL 6A. Should everybody believe it?

DP: "This team has a lot of talent, and each week we are coming out to prove the hype is real. Our defense is strong all around. Our offense has weapons that people don't even know about yet, and we are only getting more confident. So yes, it is just one of those years in Oakland, we are ring hunting."

What would a WPIAL football championship mean to you?

DP: "That is the goal. Every year the goal is to finish the season with a win at Heinz; but this year is different. This year we have a "Championship Mentality" and we are using that to motivate us. This team is full of talented kids that deserve a run at a championship, and kids that have fallen to injuries deserve a ring for their sacrifices."

You could have made a big difference if you played on the high school football team in the school district that you live in. If you did not attend Central Catholic, what public high school would you have attended?

DP: "My home school district is Seneca Valley."

Tell me one of your "Go To" places to eat at.

DP: "Patron Mexican Grill in Cranberry. My buddies and I go there every Monday for their one-dollar taco deal. I also like Aiello's Pizza in Squirrel Hill. They have the best white pizza in the Burgh."

If you could choose anybody to have dinner with. who would you choose?

DP: "If I could choose one person to get dinner with, it would be my Grandpa Phil who sadly passed away when my dad was young."

Tell me something that people would be surprised to know about you.

DP: "Many people would be surprised to know I could quote almost every episode of the TV show, FRIENDS."

BY Hilton: bythebossandgoat@gmail.com and Twitter @BYHilton13

39 views
bottom of page