top of page
  • BY Hilton

Nick's 2019 Week 4 WPIAL Football Player Of The Week: David Pantelis (Upper St. Clair)


In the 2019 WPIAL football regular season, David Pantelis is currently leading his team, Upper St. Clair, in receptions and receiving yards.

SOURCE: @Davidpantellis11 (TWITTER)

Description

Name: David Pantelis

School: Upper St. Clair

Sport: Football

Position: Wide Receiver, Cornerback

Class: 2021

Claim to Fame: Pantelis recorded 8 receptions for 273 yards and scored 3 touchdowns in a 35-33 road win against West Allegheny in Week 4.

Questions & Answers

This past week, your team had a nice section win against West Allegheny. What did you think of your team's win?

David Pantelis: "There was a lot of positive and negative things during the course of the game; but I think that because of our team's heart for the game, it ultimately led to our favor. Also, I think that because of the way we approach the game and the way we are prepared by our coaching staff significantly impacts winning or losing. Although we won, I still think there is a lot to build off. We, as a team, still have a lot to learn from. We need to learn from our mistakes and correct them for the remainder of the season."

Your team plays a non-section opponent in Fox Chapel on Friday. What does your team have to do to win that game?

DP: "I believe that we just have to consider the little details and the fixable things. Also, I think that as a team we shouldn’t worry about their record or if it’s non-section but how we can play every play correct."

In the first five games of the regular season, you have racked up a total of 889 yards. Personally, what have you been doing to get off to a hot start?

DP: "I believe that statistics are not measured on personally ability, but how well a team comes together and how each player fights for his own brotherhood. Throughout every course of a game, whether or not the ball is thrown or ran, every player on the field is doing their part. I think that the numbers are just a byproduct of how successful we are doing as a team. Also, we as a team, pay attention to the little details that our coaches teach us day in and day out."

What is it like playing for head coach Mike Junko?

DP: "It’s an honor playing for Coach Junko. It’s not about the wins or the loses to him, but about the small details in life and how he teaches us to become better individuals. Also, he demonstrates a great understanding of the game and forces us to embrace those understandings. He teach us to cherish the memories and build positive relationships with the people around you. His engagement and passion for the game allows us as players to follow his goals and be apart of something very special."

This is your first year of playing high school football without your brother, Chris, on the team. Tell me the impact that your big brother, Chris, has had on your life?

DP: "My brother Christopher was more than just a brother. He characterized me into the person I am today. His impactful actions have contributed to all of my accomplishments and more. It’s hard to think that I can’t play ball with him anymore but he has taught more things on and off the field than I would ever need in ones lifetime. Some things I may forget but playing on the field next to him I could never forget."

If you had the first overall pick in a Fantasy Football draft, who would you choose?

DP: "Odell Beckham Jr. He is always a guy I wanted to be on the field. He just does it all."

If you were granted one wish in the world, what would you wish for?

DP: "I would probably wish for warmer weather because I usually need to carry a portable heater around my house during those long winter days. Sometimes, I bring it out in the summer."

Who do you think is the greatest athlete to ever come out of Upper St. Clair?

DP: "There has been many great athletes to come through Upper St. Clair in many different sports and or positions. The person who I think is the greatest athlete to come through Upper St. Clair would be Sean Casey. He did it all, played pro in the MLB and played in the All-Star game. The thing about him that makes him different from the rest of the athletes is that he came back to his hometown, Upper St. Clair, and today helps as many people as he can. He is a person that I look up to and a person that people can look up to in the future."

Tell me something that people would be surprised to know about you.

DP: "People might be surprised to know that the iron in my body is less than a normal person's body iron count. This causes me to feel cold in warm temperatures. It’s a rare condition 1 in 600 people experience."

BY Hilton: bythebossandgoat@gmail.com and Twitter @BYHilton13

18 views
bottom of page