top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

2020 CTA's Blue Chip Chat: Shady Side Academy's Joshua Castro


Shady Side Academy football player Joshua Castro visited Michigan State University back in November 2019.


Joshua Castro

School: Shady Side Academy

Position: QB, P

Year: Senior

Height: 6-3

Weight: 212

The Scoop

Joshua Castro has big responsibilities as being a part of Shady Side Academy's football team. Being the team's starting quarterback and punter, it can be assumed that he has had a lot of playing time, which is true. Castro played his first year at Shady Side in 2019 as a junior after playing high school football in Germany for two years. He is hoping to get more college offers as he is about to enter his senior year of high school football. In Castro's first year as the team's starting quarterback in 2019, he posted a 5-5 overall record as he helped Shady Side get into the WPIAL 2A football playoffs. National Kicking Rankings also has Castro listed as the number two punter in the Class of 2021 in the whole country.

College Talk

Castro has had a lot of schools showing interest in him and he is wondering if he'll play quarterback or punter in college. Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology, Macalester College, Carleton College, Occidental College, Case Western Reserve University, Washington and Lee, Colby College, Bowdoin College, Mount Union, and Dayton.

Questions and Answers


How excited are you for your senior year of high school football?

I'm extremely blessed to get the opportunity to play this fall, even as some schools and leagues around America have made the decision to cancel or postpone football. I'm very thankful for the WPIAL developing a plan for a safe return to play, and I'm super excited to get back out on the field this fall.


How did you get into the game of football?

Ever since I was a toddler, I remember watching NFL games with my dad. I started playing flag football around the age of five and my passion grew the more I played. My first tackle football coach recommended I play quarterback, and I've stuck with it over the last 10 seasons.


Do you have any personal goals this season?

My goal is just to be at my best every play and to be a good leader on and off the field. Stats aren't important to me as long as we're winning as a team.


So, where did you live before you came to Shady Side Academy?

I grew up in Minnesota and lived in Germany for 3 years before moving to Pittsburgh. I learned about Shady Side Academy as I was searching for a boarding school with great academics in America. I knew I wanted to get back for two years of high school in America before college, and I loved my visit at Shady Side.


So far, what would you say are the benefits of attending Shady Side Academy?

The people. Most of the faculty are great and are willing to give extra help outside of class. Shady Side Academy has a very rigorous curriculum, but the teachers help to make it manageable.

In college, do you see yourself more of a quarterback or a punter?

I really will play anywhere to get on the field and help the team, no matter where I end up playing. I would love the opportunity to compete at quarterback and always have the option of punting as well.


What's it like playing two different positions in quarterback and punter?

Sometimes it gets tough having to punt right after running the ball or throwing a sprint-out pass on third down, but nothing in football is easy. It's definitely better than waiting on the sideline, and I'm just glad to help the team no matter what position I'm at.


What are some things that you do to become a better quarterback and punter?

Putting in extra work outside of practice. In general, that's my approach to become a better player, whether I'm getting extra punts in after practice or getting down early with a receiver to throw some routes.


As a football player, what does your diet consist of?

I try to eat as much food as possible in the offseason. I try to load up on protein and carbohydrates to bulk up after lifts. During the season, I like to keep breakfast and lunch small and load up on dinner after practice.


What is a song that can get you pumped up before a football game?

Hearing 'Welcome to the Jungle' gives me goosebumps and an adrenaline rush no matter when I hear it, and there's nothing I'd rather hear while teeing the ball up for the opening kickoff.

AND FINALLY


If you could have a dream car, what would it be?

Something fast with loud engine and stripes.


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

I'm fluent in German as a result of living in the country for three years.


Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

187 views
bottom of page