top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

2020 CTA's Blue Chip Chat: South Fayette's Naman Alemada


South Fayette’s Naman Alemada throws a pass during a game in 2019.


Naman Alemada

School: South Fayette

Position: QB

Year: Senior

Height: 6-5

Weight: 205


The Scoop

During Naman's freshman and sophomore year on South Fayette's football team, he watched former Lions quarterbacks Drew Saxton and Jamie Diven succeed. As a result, when Naman got the opportunity to start for the Lions at quarterback as a junior in 2019, he succeeded as well. As a junior last season, he passed for 3,004 yards [2nd in the WPIAL in 2019] and threw 32 touchdowns [2nd in the WPIAL in 2019]. Also, in 2019, he was named 1st Team All-Conference QB and 4A All-State QB.


College Talk

As of right now, Naman has an NCAA Division I football offer from Long Island University and an NAIA football offer from Culver-Stockton College, located in Canton, Missouri.


Questions and Answers


How excited are you for your senior year of high school football?

I'm super excited. It’s not at all how I imagined it would be but I’m just glad to have the chance to play.


What would you say are South Fayette's goals for the 2020 WPIAL & PIAA football season?

Same as it is every year; compete for a title.


Three of your top receivers return in seniors Joey Audia, Charley Rossi, and Ryan McGuire. All three of them had over 700+ receiving yards last season. What's it like having them as your receiving core?

It’s awesome. To know that I’ll have any one of those guys open on every play makes it a lot easier on me and allows our offense to run the way it does.


South Fayette will travel to Dover, Ohio on September 11th. How excited are you to play against a team from Ohio?

From what I’ve heard, they’re a good team that runs the same offense we do so I think it’s going to be an exciting matchup. I have been to Ohio before, but I don’t think I’ve been to Dover before.


What do you think was the biggest thing that you accomplished during the offseason?

This offseason, I feel like I got more athletic overall. With the help of Ron DeAngelo at UPMC and Coach Rossi, I feel quicker, stronger, and like I’m in better shape overall.


If you could predict, how far do you think you can throw the football?

55-65 yards accurately.


So, what makes you wear the number 10?

I wanted to wear the number 3 going into freshman year but 10 was the only number available. Once I put it on, I stuck with it.


What song can get you hype before a football game?

Dreams and Nightmare for sure by Meek Mill. We always play that in the locker room before a game.


AND FINALLY


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

I didn’t become a quarterback until 8th grade.



Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

76 views
bottom of page