top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

2021 CTA Week 1 Football Player of the Week: Devin Whitlock (Belle Vernon)


Devin Whitlock poses before his Belle Vernon football team hits the practice field.

SOURCE: Ben Tenuta Productions


STUD ALERT: Devin Whitlock showed up in Belle Vernon's first football game of the 2021 WPIAL/PIAA football season by beating Chartiers Valley 49-14 on the road. Whitlock completed 9 of 12 passes for 128 yards, and he also rushed for 128 yards as well. He rushed for four touchdowns, and he even threw a touchdown pass. His Leopards are off to a 1-0 start, and are looking to continue to have dynamic performances like they did in Week 1.


Questions & Answers:


You scored five touchdowns against Chartiers Valley in Week 1. Four of them were rushing touchdowns, and the other touchdown was by passing. What do you think went right for you in your team's first game of the season?

Devin Whitlock: I think we came out the gate fast and strong, and we never let off the gas after that!


During this past summer, what do you think you have gotten better as when it comes to playing quarterback and being a football player?

DW: I think my arm and accuracy has gotten better, and I just feel I have a better understanding of everything that’s going on the football field.


Do you think there is anything makes you different or unique compared to other WPIAL quarterbacks?

DW: Yes, I think my ability to run makes me different than other quarterbacks because I can run, pass or give it to the running back, and all three options can hurt a defense bad!


Your team will play their first home game of the season on Friday against Penn-Trafford. What do you think your team has to do to beat Cade Yacamelli and that Warriors team?

DW: I think we just have to have a good week of practice and game planning. If we come out and play our game, I think we’ll be successful.


Your teammate Quinton Martin has six Division I football offers, and is known as your team's star running back and defensive back. What is your relationship like with him?

DW: He’s like my brother. I love the kid, he works so hard, and he is everything you can ask for in an underclassmen football player.


People look at your team and think that you all have a chance to be WPIAL 4A football champions. Your team has not won a WPIAL football championship since 1995. How much would it mean to you to bring a WPIAL football championship back to Belle Vernon?

DW: It would mean the world to bring back a WPIAL championship. I think it will mean a lot to the team and the community!


Which team do you wish you could play against that isn't on your regular season schedule?

DW: Pittsburgh Central Catholic because I feel like they are a real good 6A program.


Now, if you could choose one WPIAL football player from another school to play at Belle Vernon, who would you choose?

DW: I would have to say Devin Barren from Pittsburgh Central Catholic, I think we would shake things up!


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

DW: My goal for every Friday is not to get tackled at all.



Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

56 views
bottom of page