top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

2021 CTA Week 8 Football Player of the Week: Rodney Gallagher (Laurel Highlands)


Laurel Highlands football player Rodney Gallagher runs down the field with the football against Trinity.

SOURCE: (Laurel Highlands Football, Instagram)


STUD ALERT: Rodney Gallagher is him. The star football player from Laurel Highlands rushed the ball 20 times for 285 yards and 5 touchdowns (23, 1, 75, 58 and 4). He even passed for 100 yards and threw a passing touchdown. On top of that, he even hauled in a 22-yard reception. Rodney's great performance on the offensive side of the ball helped Laurel Highlands beat Trinity 39-34 as the Mustangs clinched a spot in the WPIAL Football Playoffs for the first time since 2015. The win for the Mustangs even helped the team secure their first winning record since 1996.


Questions & Answers


Last Friday, your team clinched a playoff berth on the road against Trinity. How does it feel knowing that you will be playing in the WPIAL Football playoffs for the first time in your high school career?

Rodney Gallagher: It’s the best feeling I’ve had for the game of football ever. I’ve always wanted to experience a playoff feeling and it finally came.


You can do it all on the field by passing the ball, running the ball, catching the ball, and playing defense. What's it like being on the field for basically the whole game every week?

RG: The game of football just brings me into another world every time I hit it the field. The feeling I get when the lights come on and my brothers are out there with me is something I can’t explain.


Your team will travel five minutes down the road in Week 9 to take on Uniontown. What do you think your team has to do beat them on Friday?

RG: We have to do what we are supposed to do, play our way of football and I think we will be just fine.


So, what's it like playing under head coach Richard Kolesar?

RG: It’s great. He cares about his players and he puts all of his effort into the game.


This season was the first year that you are considered an upperclassmen. What type of leadership and culture are you trying to provide or bring to this Laurel Highlands football team?

RG: I try to set an example to be the best you can be and be the hardest worker as possible. I want to win and that’s everyone’s mindset going into each and every game.


Throughout this season, what do you think you have gotten better at when it comes to playing football?

RG: Every single thing. I’ve been working very hard on my fundamentals of football and it’s starting to pay off.


This past Friday, you were at the Clemson-Pitt game. How much did you enjoy your experience at the game?

RG: It was great. I had a great time with my family watching Pitt ball out.


Who would you say is the coolest celebrity that follows you on social media?

RG: LeBron James


Where is your go-to place to get food?

RG: Dairy Queen


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

RG: I love to bowl.




Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

228 views
bottom of page