top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

2022 CTA Volleyball Player Profile: Ally Feczko (North Catholic)


Back in late July, North Catholic's Ally Feczko showed off her Lafayette sweatshirt while on vacation.

Source: (Instagram, @a.feczko)


ALLY FECZKO

School: North Catholic

Position: OH

Year: Senior

Height: 5-10


WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT ALLY: Ally is one of the returning players for North Catholic that won the WPIAL and PIAA 2A championships from last season. In the past two years, she was also named First Team All-Conference, First Team All-WPIAL and First Team All-State in 2A last season. Ally currently resides in the North Allegheny school district.


COLLEGE TALK: Back on July 29, Ally verbally committed to continue her academic and volleyball career at Lafayette College.


QUESTIONS & ANSWERS:


It's not even a question that your North Catholic team had a memorable season in 2021 going undefeated in conference play and winning WPIAL and PIAA 2A titles. Looking back at last season, how awesome was it to have achieved so much?

Ally Feczko: It was incredible! I feel so blessed to be a part of a program that has been successful year after year. After losing several key senior players after our 2020 season, I was unsure of how we would bounce back. With our hard work and dedication, we were able to carry on their winning legacy. And it was extra special to win them both in the same year because we had never done that before.


During the off-season, what have you and your team been working on to try and three-peat as WPIAL champions and repeat as PIAA champions.

AF: During the off-season, we put in a lot of time in the weight room to get in shape for the season. Also, many of us played club volleyball to further improve our skills. Once preseason started, we outlined our goals and discussed what we need to do to achieve them. We have been working really hard to clean up our serve receive and become a very defensively-disciplined team. Since we moved up to 3A, we are expecting tougher competition, so we want to be as prepared as possible.


As you said before, after playing in 2A last season, your North Catholic team got bumped up to 3A. How excited are you to being playing up a classification and playing teams such as Mars, Lincoln Park and Blackhawk?

AF: I am very excited to move up to 3A. Right off the bat, our matches will be more competitive. My team and I are super excited because there are a lot of really good teams, so every game should be a challenge.


Individually, what have you been working on to improve your game?

AF: I have been working on expanding my defensive range to be able to get more touches on more balls. Also, I am trying to handle out-of-system sets better as an attacker.


As a senior, describe to me the culture and leadership you are establishing on the volleyball team?

AF: I’m more of a quiet person, so I tend to lead primarily by example by always giving my full effort on every play. That being said, I am also working on becoming more of a vocal leader this year since I am a senior, and I think it could help the team. I am trying to be as positive as possible to lift my teammates up if they make a mistake.


So, how did you get into the game of volleyball and what made you continue to keep playing?

AF: My older sister Elizabeth started playing in grade school and I followed in her footsteps. Then, I instantly fell in love with the game. Being on the court is one of the greatest feelings. Since then, I am lucky enough to have two baller sisters to practice with all the time, so I am able to keep up my skills.


Before you entered high school, what helped you and your family decide to attend North Catholic?

AF: I have gone to catholic school all my life, and I wanted to continue that in high school. My older brother and sister made the decision to attend North Catholic when they were incoming freshmen, so I carried on the tradition and ended up there too. I am so happy that I did.


Back on July 29, you verbally committed to continue your academic and volleyball career at Lafayette College. What helped you make your decision to commit to there?

AF: Lafayette College has the perfect balance of academic rigor and competitive volleyball. As soon as I got to campus, I immediately knew that it was the place for me. The head coach is amazing, and he has built a really strong program over the past few years. I am super excited for next year!


Ok, who is the best volleyball player that you ever played against?

AF: I have been fortunate enough to play against so many insanely talented volleyball players that it is impossible to pick just one.


Besides having success in volleyball, what is one thing that you are looking forward to in your senior year at North Catholic?

AF: I am looking forward to a hopefully normal senior year without any COVID restrictions. I am excited for our senior trip to New York City, prom and senior sunrise.


Besides playing volleyball, what other clubs and organizations are you apart of at North Catholic?

AF: I am a part of National Honor Society, Service Club and the Ultimate Frisbee Team.


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

AF: I am a foodie and love to cook.




Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BrentaroYamane and @official_brentaro

230 views
bottom of page