top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

2022 CTA Volleyball Player Profile: Ava Leroux (South Fayette)


South Fayette senior Ava Leroux gets set to serve during a volleyball exhibition match on August 20.



AVA LEROUX

School: South Fayette

Position: MH

Year: Senior

Height: 6-3

WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT AVA: As a junior last season, Ava helped South Fayette go 12-0 in the section (WPIAL 3A Section 2) resulting in a conference title. The Lions defeated Mars 3-0 in the first round before losing 3-2 to Armstrong in the quarterfinal round. Ava was named Second Team All-Conference and Second Team All-WPIAL in 3A. Besides playing volleyball, Ava is also one of the star players on South Fayette's Girls basketball team as she helped the Lions win the WPIAL 5A title last season.


COLLEGE TALK: Back on March 18, Ava verbally committed to continue her academic and basketball career at Elon University. She also had basketball offers from Colgate, Lafayette, Bucknell, Monmouth, Purdue Fort Wayne, Duquesne, Oakland, and Niagara.


QUESTIONS & ANSWERS:

Ok Ava, last season your Lions team lost to Armstrong 3-2 in the WPIAL 3A Quarterfinals as some people considered it an upset. What has your team been working on this offseason to make a deeper playoff run this season?

Ava Leroux: As a team, our focus has been on communication, serve receive and working together as a cohesive unit. We’ve been working a lot on the fundamentals to advance our team play in hopes to make a good run in playoffs.


Individually, what have you been working on to improve your skills?

AL: This was a busy summer with basketball because AAU season carries into late July. However, my main focus was to get physically stronger and staying well conditioned through lifting and running. Transitioning into volleyball, I've tried to focus more on my defensive skills and becoming more comfortable with hitting from different positions on the court.


So, how did you get into the game of volleyball and want to continue to keep playing?

AL: [Head] coach Sundgren saw the potential I had with my height and athleticism to be a good volleyball player in 3rd grade when he was my teacher. However, I was playing soccer at the time and the seasons overlapped. It wasn’t until my sophomore year of high school that I decided to play volleyball instead of soccer. I had never played volleyball before, but once I learned how to, I loved it.


What has been one of your favorite team bonding activities that you have had this summer?

AL: Everybody on the team is very close, so we are hanging out with each other all the time. We go out to eat a lot after practice which is a great team bonding opportunity.


Let's talk about basketball for a moment. Back in March, you verbally committed to continue your academic and basketball career at Elon University. What made you decide to commit there?

AL: Once I visited Elon’s campus and talked with the coaching staff, I immediately knew that it was where I wanted to play basketball. I loved the campus, academic programs and coaching staff. So, there was no hesitation when I committed.


Do you have any idea on what you would want to major at Elon?

AL: I’d like to be a nurse anesthetist. So, I’m leaning toward the nursing field.


You helped the Lions win a WPIAL title in girls basketball season last year, what would it mean to you to bring home a WPIAL and PIAA volleyball title at South Fayette?

AL: it would be amazing to be able to accomplish this in both sports and it would be a great way to end my senior year.


If you could anywhere in the world to vacation at, where would you choose?

AL: I would love to go to Hawaii because I’ve never been there and it looks beautiful.


What class are you looking forward to taking for your senior year at South Fayette?

AL: My favorite class right now is AP Art because I enjoy drawing and its a good break from other hard classes on my schedule.


Every time I talk to a South Fayette student, I have to ask him or her what Mini-Thon is like there. I hear that it is really popular. What has your experience been like being a part of Mini-Thon there?

AL: Mini-Thon is such a fun experience and it is always something to look forward to. Last year, we reached the mark of donating over $1 million since Mini-Thon started and it was an honor to participate and raise money for the kids in need.


TopGolf is located in South Fayette Township. Have you been there before?

AL: Nope, I’ve never been there. Golf is one sport that I’ve never tried.


What is one song that can motivate or hype you up before a basketball or volleyball game?

AL: Narcos by Migos


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

AL: I tore my shoulder making a TikTok.



Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BrentaroYamane and @official_brentaro

170 views
bottom of page