top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

2022 CTA Volleyball Player Profile: Hilary Quinn (Shaler)


Back on August 6, Hilary Quinn stood for a pose during the 2022 Cover Three Athletics and S.K.Y. Development Athletics Volleyball Media Day.

Source: Devin Paschall | Paschall Photography


HILARY QUINN

School: Shaler

Position: OH

Year: Junior

Height: 5-10


WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT HILARY: Last season as a sophomore, Hilary was one of the starters on Shaler's volleyball team that helped the Titans reach the WPIAL 4A Championship and PIAA 4A Semifinals. Both losses were against North Allegheny. Hilary was named Second Team All-Conference last season as well.


COLLEGE TALK: With Hilary only being a junior for the upcoming school year, she still has a lot of time to think about what sport she would want to play in college. She also plays on the girls basketball team at Shaler. Hilary also took a visit to West Liberty back in July.


QUESTIONS & ANSWERS:


Alright, last season your team lost to North Allegheny in the WPIAL 4A Finals PIAA 4A Semifinals. What has your team been improving on this offseason to get over the hump and be the top team in 4A?

Hilary Quinn: Our team has been improving our physical and mental ability to be able to stay engaged during a match. When playing North Allegheny, we have gone to 5 sets with them 3 out of the 4 games. All summer we have been working on building our stamina and we will continue to build our level of play to our highest ability.


As an individual, what have you've been working on to improve your volleyball technique?

HQ: I have been working on hitting different shots on the court, improving my defense and most of all serve receive. Those are the three key aspects to my play that I am always working on to get better at.


Your team lost three seniors that were named First Team All-Conference. You were named Second Team All-Conference last season and will be an upperclassmen this season. What type of impact and leadership will you be trying to provide this season?

HQ: Growing up, I've always had a leadership mentally, both on and off the court . Without the seniors from last year, I intend to carry on their legacy and show everyone what our program is all about. This season it’s very important that I do the most I can to help and teach the underclassmen what they need to know and do. I want to be able to leave knowing I made an impact on the Shaler Area Girls Volleyball program.


You played for Revolution Volleyball Club this past year. What's was it like playing for them?

HQ: Playing for Revolution Volleyball Club is an honor. This is my second year with them and I could not be more happier and grateful. I love this club because I learn and get so much out of each and every practice. Everything is very organized and at a good high level play. I’ve always loved the coaches and it’s a big part of why I choose to play for them. They have made me into the volleyball player I am today 100%.


So, how did you get into the game of volleyball and want to continue to keep playing?

HQ: I got into the game of volleyball by doing the summer Shaler camps as a young girl. I didn’t think much of it as I was doing it mostly for fun with my friends until when I started middle school and instantly fell in love with the game. I for sure wanted to continue playing and I still want to continue my volleyball career.


Who is one volleyball player that you like to watch play and learn from?

HQ: Kathryn Plummer played at Stanford University and is now a professional player. I love to watch and learn from her because she is so smart with the ball and always knows how to get the point for her team. She is very aggressive and a tough athlete which I truly admire.


Shaler starts school on August 25. What class are you excited to take this year?

HQ: I’m excited for my new class, Sustainability. I wanted to take something out of my comfort zone, learn more about the environment and know what our Earth is all about.


In your opinion, who is the best current football player in the WPIAL?

HQ: Anthony Speca [Junior at Central Catholic]


If you could eat dinner with anyone in the world, who would you choose?

HQ: I would choose my Grammy Quinn. My father's mother, also known as my Grammy Quinn, passed away when my dad was in high school. Every day I think about what she was like and wishing I could’ve met her. She would be the one I choose.


You can have an NIL deal with any company or place in the country. What would it be?

HQ: I would probably choose Nike.


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

HQ: I used to Irish dance. That was not for me, I'm a tough competitor which some people might be surprised by. I hate losing and I love good competition. Sports has always been my first love.



Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BrentaroYamane and @official_brentaro

323 views
bottom of page