top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

2022 CTA Volleyball Player Profile: Kaili Doctor (Pine-Richland)


Back on August 6, Kaili Doctor stood for a pose during the 2022 Cover Three Athletics and S.K.Y. Development Athletics Volleyball Media Day.

Source: Devin Paschall | Paschall Photography


KAILI DOCTOR

School: Pine-Richland

Position: OH

Year: Senior

Height: 5-10


WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT KAILI: Kaili is one of the star players that return for Pine-Richland this season. Last year in her junior year, the team finished the regular season with an 8-4 conference record and made the WPIAL 4A playoffs. After the Rams defeated Norwin 3-0 in the first round, they unfortunately lost in the quarterfinals to Moon 3-2 in a heartbreaker. Kaili definitely wants to make a deeper postseason run and she'll be the player that everyone else on the team will look to in order to lead the way. Last season, she was named First Team All-Conference and First Team All-WPIAL in 4A.


COLLEGE TALK: Back on July 13, Kaili verbally committed to play Division I volleyball and further her academic career at North Carolina A&T State University. University of California Davis, Old Dominion and Seton Hall are some of the other schools that had offered Kaili.


QUESTIONS & ANSWERS:


Ok Kaili, after losing to Moon in the quarterfinals last season, what have you and your team been trying to do to make a deeper playoff run in 2022?

Kaili Doctor: My team and I have been working on always playing "our" game. Regardless of who is on the other side of the net, we are learning to stay disciplined and never slow our game down for any opponent. We’ve also been working on siding out after one ball. We take advantage of receiving the ball because it is a good opportunity for us to score immediately with a kill.


Individually, what are you working on to improve your game?

KD: I’ve been working on a couple of things actually. First, is my vertical, I’ve always wanted to be able to have a high approach touch so I can be above the blockers when I’m hitting. At the end of club season this past year, I was touching 10’ 3.5”. At our summer workouts, we started some box jump training. I love box jumps because they really help me focus on being explosive with my arms and properly getting my legs high enough to land on the box. Well, we jump tested at tryouts and I ended up shocking myself with my approach touch. I now touch 10’ 6”. I was in disbelief. My goal was 10’ 5” but I passed it up with no problem! I still want to work on my approach touch because now my goal is 10’ 9”. Being above the blocker’s hands is super beneficial for when I’m swinging. Second, is my out of system hitting. Sometimes I struggle being aggressive with the ball if it’s significantly off the net. I’m still working on it, and my coach reminds me to stay aggressive and reach for the ball so I’m on top of it. I will continue working on this during preseason.


Your head coach Angela Seman has had experience playing volleyball by having success at Seneca Valley and the University of Pittsburgh. What's it like having her as a head coach?

KD: I’m honestly so grateful to have her as a coach. She wants the best for this team. Having such an experienced player as a coach is a complete blessing. Her feedback to me is always so helpful and she lets me improve my game. Sometimes she’ll have me try something new when I’m hitting to trick defenders. This year she knows we can make it far, so my team and I are going to prove it!


As a senior, and one of the team's star players, what type of leadership and culture are you trying to establish for this season?

KD: I love this team. Every girl loves each other and that makes our bond strong. Off the court, we spend time together to get to know how each of us act to different things. We need to constantly be talking to one another and giving each other feedback. Constructive criticism is how we work best, and we need to keep that up. It makes us stronger as individuals on the court and helps us to grow into confident athletes. In my opinion, we are all leaders in our own way.


Back on July 13, you decided to commit to North Carolina A&T State University to continue your volleyball and academic career. What made you decide to commit there?

KD: So many things! The "AMAZING" coaching staff, the successful volleyball program, the team culture, the beautiful campus, their business program, and the fact that it is an HBCU! Everything I was looking for in a school, NCAT checked off every box. Once I went on my visit, I knew I was home. I was smiling the entire time picturing myself there. I’m so blessed that I get to attend such a wonderful university. Aggie Pride!!!


So, you play for Pittsburgh Elite Volleyball. What's it like playing for that club?

KD: It’s amazing! The coaches and directors have been super supportive of me since the first day I showed up there. I want to give a special shout-out to Lynda Scahill. Lynda welcomed me to Pittsburgh Elite and has been by my side ever since I first came in 7th grade. I had just moved here, wasn’t super familiar with volleyball, but she worked with me and made me a confident player. She also helped me expand my thinking during my recruiting process, introduced me to plenty of coaches and overall was just so supportive since colleges started showing interest at such a young age. She means a lot to me, my mom, and my grandma. We all have a special relationship with her and we’ll never take it for granted! Huge thank you to Lynda and the Pittsburgh Elite staff, I couldn’t have made it this far without them all and their endless support.


So, how did you get into the game of volleyball and what made you continue to keep playing?

KD: Volleyball wasn’t originally in the picture. I had been playing basketball since 3rd grade and that’s all I knew about. I started volleyball when I moved to Pennsylvania in 7th grade. I had never played club before, so it was just going to be a fun extracurricular for my first year here. I ended up falling in love with the sport and got more serious about it once I saw what I was capable of doing. Volleyball became my happy place and something I would always look forward to after a bad day. Whenever I was in the gym, I just looked forward to getting better. To this day, volleyball is still my happy place.


Tell me a little about the athletic background in your family.

KD: Both my mom and dad played basketball in college. My mom, Yolande Doctor, played at Saint Peter’s University. My dad, Sylvanus McBryde, played at the University of Hawaii. He also played overseas after college ball. We were originally a basketball family. They were both super supportive of me starting volleyball. My uncle, Michael Doctor Sr., and my first cousin, Michael Doctor Jr., played collegiate football. My uncle got a scholarship to play football at Purdue University and my cousin got a scholarship to play football at Oregon State University. Now, my cousin [Michael Jr.] is the Director of Recruiting at Oregon State! I’m so proud to be apart of such an athletic background and wouldn’t want it any other way.


Who is the coolest celebrity that you ever met?

KD: The coolest celebrity I’ve ever met was definitely Carmelo Anthony. I met him at AAU basketball nationals in 2015.


Where is your go-to place to eat?

KD: Hello Bistro. It’s a salad place and my mom and friends will tell you that I LOVE salad. I can customize my salad with all my favorite toppings and I enjoy it every time.


If you could go anywhere in the world to vacation, where would you go?

KD: I’ve always wanted to go to Bora Bora. It’s so gorgeous and seems so peaceful. I would love to take pictures there and just relax.


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

KD: I’ve moved states seven times. Once I go to college it’ll be eight. So, I’m very good at adapting to new environments and meeting new people. I’ve become super outgoing because of this. And I’m an only child.



Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BrentaroYamane and @official_brentaro

118 views
bottom of page