top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

2022 CTA Volleyball Player Profile: Sophie Puzausky (Bethel Park)


Last season, Bethel Park's Sophie Puzausky (8) blocked a spike from an opponent during a game.

Source: Tyler Krchmar | DM3 Media


SOPHIE PUZAUSKY

School: Bethel Park

Position: RH

Year: Senior

Height: 5-11


WHAT YOU NEED TO KNOW ABOUT SOPHIE: Sophie is one of the star players that return for Bethel Park in 2022. Last season, she helped the Blackhawks finish with a 9-3 conference record as the team made it to the WPIAL 4A Playoffs. However, the team unfortunately lost to Greater Latrobe 3-0 in the first round. Also, Last season, she was named First Team All-Conference and Second Team All-WPIAL in 4A. Her sister Emma currently plays volleyball at the University at Buffalo.


COLLEGE TALK: Sophie is contemplating whether or not she will play volleyball at the collegiate level, but she definitely has the talent to play at any NCAA Division level.


QUESTIONS & ANSWERS:


Ok Sophie, your Blackhawks got swept by Greater Latrobe in the first round of the WPIAL 4A Playoffs last season. What has your team been working on during the preseason to make a deeper playoff run in 2022?

Sophie Puzausky: This summer, we had a 3 day camp where two coaches from Coastal Carolina came up to our gym and helped us get in gear for the season. We worked on a bunch of things including different offensive patterns to create holes in the blocks for our hitters. We also worked on being scrappy on the floor on defense.


Individually, what have you been improving on to strengthen your game?

SP: I’ve been working on hitting aggressive and controlled out of system balls because when it comes to winning, those points can be more crucial than the smooth, in system kills.


As a senior, what type of leadership and culture are you trying to provide to the team?

SP: As a leader of the team, I believe it’s so important to have a strong connection with my teammates on and off the court. That is the culture that the senior class has created and I’m very proud of it. Our varsity team consist of mostly returners so we are already such a tight knit group that has so much love for each other. My goal is to teach the grades below me the importance of creating bonds with your teammates. It not only makes the sport more memorable and enjoyable, but it also makes it easier to communicate and have good connections on the court.


So, how did you get into the game of volleyball and what made you continue to keep playing?

SP: I got into volleyball because my sister [Emma] started playing. The sport itself and the people that came along with it became my joy ever since.


Speaking of your sister Emma, she currently plays volleyball at the University at Buffalo. What's it like having her as a sister and someone you can practice and talk volleyball with?

SP: It is so awesome to have her and be able to ask her for advice constantly. She is incredibly wise when it comes to the game and it’s so refreshing to know I always have her in my corner cheering me on, even when she is in Buffalo. Plus, she is the best pepper partner so anytime we can get our hands on a ball, we put each other to work.


What team do you wish that you played that is not on your regular season schedule?

SP: I wish that we played Thomas Jefferson because we have played them in years past and it’s always a great battle when we face them. They have tons of talent including my club teammates Cate Galioto and Delaney Concannon.


If you could add any player from another WPIAL or City League team to Bethel Park's roster, who would you choose?

SP: I would 100% add Avery Bain from Burrell to Bethel Park’s roster. Avery is another one of my club teammates who just brings so much to the game and is one of my favorite people to play with. She is truly an outstanding player with great energy.


Name a TV show you recommend people should watch.

SP: I recommend Pretty Little Liars.


Who would you want to play you in a movie?

SP: I would want Sandra Bullock to play me. We look nothing alike, but I love her.


What is one thing that you enjoyed doing this summer?

SP: I enjoyed watching the sunset most nights with my friends.


I read online that your sister Emma's three favorite athletes are Sidney Crosby, Phil Kessel and P.K. Subban. So, who is one of your favorite athletes?

SP: My favorite athlete has to be Deebo Samuel. He is a wide receiver for the 49ers.


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

SP: I have a pet snake named Piper!




Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BrentaroYamane and @official_brentaro

65 views
bottom of page