top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

CTA's Day 14 Of Quarantine With Kiski Area's Jack Dilts


Jack Dilts visited the University of Toledo back in January.

SOURCE: (TWITTER, @jack_dilts)


Check out Jack Dilts: Jack Dilts is currently a junior at Kiski Area High School. He plays football and wrestles at the school. As a football player, Jack plays both defensive end and tight end. His ability to explode from the line of the scrimmage as a defensive end is remarkable to watch. Also, his ability to get to the quarterback is another reason why he is a valuable part on Kiski Area's football team. Jack currently has offers to play college football from schools such as the University of Pennsylvania, Duquesne, Bucknell, and Albany. He'll definitely have more offers as Summer approaches. Jack is hoping that he can help Kiski Area to a WPIAL playoff football win as his graduating class, Class of 2021, has never experienced a postseason win. Kiski Area has made the WPIAL football playoffs the past two seasons, 2018 & 2019, but lost in the first round. As a wrestler, he is a 2x WPIAL champion as Kiski Area won the WPIAL 3A wrestling championship in 2018 & 2019.



Questions & Answers:

What have you been doing during this COVID-19 crisis?

Jack Dilts: "I’ve been doing my schoolwork, lifting, and eating."


You've had football offers from schools such as Duquesne, Bucknell, University of Pennsylvania, and Albany. So, tell me how has the recruiting process been for you?

JD: "The process has been going amazing. It’s really picked up since COVID-19, and I’m excited with the way that it’s heading."


Since you're a wrestler too, have you ever thought of wrestling in college?

JD: "I’ve thought about wrestling in college, but I feel that football will be a better option for me. No schools have offered me to wrestle."


Last season, your Kiski Area football team lost to Bethel Park in the first round of the WPIAL Class 5A Playoffs. Tell me what your team learned after that season ending loss?

JD: "We learned that we need to work together more. Whether it is a missed gap cover on defense or not knowing the play on offense, every little thing matters and it affects the outcome of the game."


Your section will look a bit different next season with not having to face Armstrong, Hampton, and Mars. However, Pine-Richland moves down in your section. How do you think your team will adjust to your new section that involves less teams?

JD: "I feel like it will be different, but we will adjust to it. I’m really excited for the Pine-Richland game because they have a lot of really talented players on their team. I would like to see how we match up against them."


As a defensive end, your ability to explode off the line of scrimmage is amazing. So, what are some of the things that you do to get better at football?

JD: "I do a lot of speed work with weights as well as just lifting to get bigger and stronger."


Who is your favorite Kiski athlete of all-time?

JD: "I would have to say my brother Hunter. I’ve looked up to him since I was little because he was older and did everything before me."


If you won the lottery, what would be the first thing you would do with your winnings?

JD: "I would buy my parents a house on the beach."


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

JD: "I’m a big Star Wars fan."


Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

98 views
bottom of page