top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

CTA's Day 16 Of Quarantine With Penn Hills' Jonah Silverman


Jonah Silverman runs with a soccer ball during a Penn Hills soccer game.

SOURCE: Louis Raggiunti | For the Tribune-Review


Check out Jonah Silverman: Jonah is currently a junior at Penn Hills High School. He is a three-sport athlete as he plays football, soccer, and runs Track & Field. As a football player, he is the team's kicker/punter and is able to kick the football far on kickoffs. This past WPIAL & PIAA football season, 2019, Silverman made 33 extra points. He has been able to make a name for himself in three sports and that is impressive if you ask anybody.


Questions & Answers:

What have you been doing during this COVID-19 crisis?

Jonah Silverman: "School work, lifting, and running"


So, I hear you are a three-sport athlete in soccer, football, and Track & Field? What's it like playing all of those sports in one school year?

JS: "It’s hard on your body since you don’t really have an off-season. So, you have to take extra good care of yourself to avoid injuries."


Just this past WPIAL & PIAA football season, you decided to join the football team at Penn Hills and become the team's kicker. Let me say, you did really well in your first year. So, what made you join the team?

JS: "I wanted to kick freshman year, but one of my friends ended up doing it and I was only 135 lbs at the time. Sophomore year, my track coach, Coach Lee, got me to run cross country instead. Since cross country and soccer was so hard on my body physically, I decided kicking was the better route for my junior year."


In soccer, your section will look a bit different with facing a lot of new different teams. Woodland Hills and Plum are the only teams from last year, 2019, that will still be in your section next year in 2020. Franklin Regional, Gateway, Obama, Kiski Area, and West Mifflin will all be new teams in your section? What do you think of having to face a whole lot of new teams next year?

JS: "I’m glad to see some new teams and we’re all hoping to improve on last season. I know we’re getting some talent this year and I look forward to see how we perform in the new section."


You have lettered and have made a name for yourself in the three sports that you play at. So, if you had to decide, what sport would you like to see yourself play in college?

JS: "I definitely want to kick in college, but I’d be open to running track as well. It all depends on my options after the seasons are finished."


Describe to me the culture at Penn Hills.

JS: "We are a family, in athletics and education. We all help each other whenever we can. If someone needs help with school, you FaceTime and help them get that work done. If someone wants to hit the field, we carpool and get to work."


When it comes to sports, who would you say is Penn Hills' biggest rival?

JS: "Probably Woodland Hills because of the proximity. We finally get to play them in football again this year. That’s gonna be a game to see."


If you could eat dinner with one person in the whole world, who would you choose?

JS: "Kanye West, he’s one of the greatest artists and entrepreneurs of our generation. I’d like to see what he’s like in real life without the cameras."


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

JS: "I love to fish."


Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

41 views
bottom of page