top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

CTA's Day 17 Of Quarantine With Elizabeth Forward's Chase Whatton


SOURCE: (HUDL, Chase Whatton)


Check out Chase Whatton: Chase is currently a junior at Elizabeth Forward High School. He currently plays on the football team and has been getting a lot of attention because of his ability to play defensive end. He has been named First-Team All-State Defensive End, First Team All-Conference Defensive End & Halfback, Finest 30 Defensive End, and 2019 BIG EAST Defensive Player of the Year in his high school career. For the past three seasons, Elizabeth Forward's football team has made it to the WPIAL playoffs, but they have lost their first-round playoff game in all three years. Chase is hoping that his Class of 2021 can win a WPIAL football playoff game in 2020 and make a deep postseason run. As of now, Chase has received 27 Division I football offers. Schools such as Army, Buffalo, Cornell, Duquesne, Harvard, Western Michigan, Yale, University of Pennsylvania, Princeton, and other schools have offered Whatton.


Questions & Answers:

What have you been doing during this COVID-19 crisis?

Chase Whatton: "I’ve been going to Nick Murphy's [Chase's teammate] house to get my lifts in. I really have felt a HUGE increase in my strength."


You currently have 27 Division I offers. Tell me what's it like receiving all those offers. It must feel good; I would guess.

CW: "It is honestly just amazing. It’s been a dream of mine since I started playing football."


Lasts season, 2019, your football team lost to Aliquippa in the WPIAL 3A Quarterfinals by a score of 27-7. What do you think your team learned after that loss?

CW: "The score of that game doesn’t determine the game it was. We hung with them. They got a few big plays which cannot happen. I’d have to say we all learned that we could have beaten the defending state champs."


What are some of the things that you do to become better as a defensive end?

CW: "Well, I lift everyday to allow myself to be stronger. I train with cones which results in me gaining speed, and balance."


If you had to give advice to younger football players, who are trying to get recruited by colleges, what would you say to them?

CW: "I would tell them that Twitter is not a joke. Twitter has probably been the most useful recruiting tool. All coaches are on Twitter, so there’s no way you can’t get your name out there. ADVERTISE YOURSELF."


Up to this point in your life, what has been your favorite high school memory?

CW: "I’d probably have to say when I got my first D1 scholarship offer."


Where do you want to see yourself in 10 years?

CW: "I want to see myself in the NFL. If not, I am majoring in business management. So, maybe some type of business one day."


Who is someone on your football team that you think deserves more recognition and credit?

CW: "Davontay Brownfield, Evan Lewis, Nick Murphy, and Nico Mrvos"


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

CW: "Man, this one gets people. I actually used to take jazz, tap, ballet, hiphop, and acro. So. I’m weirdly flexible."


Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

323 views
bottom of page