top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

CTA's Day 19 Of Quarantine With Gateway's Shane Thrift


SOURCE: Shane Thrift (HUDL)


Check out Shane Thrift: Shane is currently a junior at Gateway High School. He currently plays on the football team and is known for being Gateway's All-Section Defensive Back. The 3-star Defensive Back helped Gateway's football team win the WPIAL 5A football championship back in 2019. One of his biggest plays, of the 2019 WPIAL & PIAA football season, happened in the WPIAL 5A semifinals against McKeesport when Thrift had an interception that helped Gateway keep momentum throughout the game and eventually win by a score of 14-7. Thrift happened to play his first two years of high school football at Seton LaSalle, after those two seasons, he transferred to Gateway. He currently has offers from schools such as William & Mary and Delaware. If you look at the picture up top, you see a picture of Shane Thrift. When you look into his eyes, you can see that he is hungry to get better each and every day. He will be looking to win another WPIAL championship for Gateway in 2020.


Questions & Answers:

What have you been doing during this COVID-19 crisis?

Shane Thrift: "I have been working on school work, and I have been working out on a daily basis."


Back on May 7, 2020, you received an offer from the University of Delaware. Tell me how you felt after learning you received that offer.

ST: "I knew my time was coming, it was just a matter of time. I always play with a chip on my shoulder; so, that just gave me more motivation to prove the haters wrong. It was a blessing when I found out this information!"


It was great that your Gateway football team won the WPIAL championship in 2019. What do you think your team needs to do repeat as WPIAL champions in 2020?

ST: " We need to play as a team, don’t do the things that will get us behind in games. Also, just do the little things right!"


So, you played your first two years of high school football at Seton LaSalle before transferring to Gateway. What would you say is the difference between playing at Seton LaSalle and Gateway?

ST: "There is a major difference, the crowds are bigger at Gateway football games! The teams we play are way better, and bigger! I feel like it’s just more competitive at Gateway then it was at Seton LaSalle. Everyone wants to make it to the top!"


So, you are part of a Pittsburgh Area utilizing training and football program called "Evolve". What's it like being apart of that program?

ST: It’s a real good thing. Everyone can’t be apart of Evolve gang. Shout-out to Coach Von! That’s my boy. He helps me with recruiting as well. Evolve is like a second team to me. I play ball with boys that are on the opposing teams that I will be playing. We joke around about who will win the game and things like that. Overall, it’s just for me to work on my craft!


What do you think your coaches and teammates would say about the type of player you are?

ST: "They would say I play with a chip on my shoulder. When I’m on the field, I like to talk a lot of trash! Knowing that I’m the 5th ranked corner in the state, I have to play at a high level! People try me a lot in games and at practice, but not to many succeed because I get in peoples heads!"


We got to know, who is your favorite NFL player?

ST: "Jalen Ramsey, he’s a goat."


If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?

ST: "Dubai, it looks like a whole different world out there!"


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

ST: "Many people don’t know that I can sing!"


Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13



65 views
bottom of page