top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

CTA's Day 20 Of Quarantine With Avonworth's Nate Harper


SOURCE: (TWITTER, @NateHarper15)


Check out Nate Harper: Nate is currently a freshman at Avonworth High School. He currently plays on the football team and could be Avonworth's starting quarterback for the 2020 WPIAL & PIAA football season. Park Penrod was Avonworth's starting quarterback for the 2019 season as he was a senior. With Park about to graduate from Avonworth in the next month, that means the Antelopes will be looking for a new starting quarterback. Nate got some snaps in as quarterback during this past season, 2019, for the Antelopes as he threw two touchdowns in regular season games against Summit Academy and Shady Side Academy. He will hope to try and help Avonworth repeat as WPIAL football champions in 2020 as he would probably want another WPIAL championship. The Antelopes won the WPIAL 2A football championship against Washington back on Saturday, November 23, 2019.


Questions & Answers:

What have you been doing during this COVID-19 crisis?

Nate Harper: "I have been spending lots of time with my family, working day in and day out in the weight room, working on my speed, and improving my skill set as a quarterback."


What is your offseason plan to train and prepare for your sophomore season?

NH: "What you do in the off-season is a direct reflection of the product you put on the field come fall. I take my training and preparation very seriously, while working on every aspect of my game. Whether it’s in the weight room with my teammates, training at 2/10ths Speed and Agility with DeWayne Brown, working with my Quarterback Coach Greg Mcghee, throwing routes with my teammates or studying film, these are just a couple of the things that I do to prepare for the upcoming season."


Avonworth's starting quarterback from last season, Park Penrod, will graduate at the end of the school year. It looks like you could be the Antelopes starting quarterback for 2020. Are you excited to perhaps get the starting quarterback position?

NH: "Yes, I am beyond blessed and unbelievably excited for a great opportunity laying ahead of me to be the starting quarterback as a sophomore for Avonworth. I can’t wait, and I am working towards this every single day."


When you are studying film, what do you focus on to improve your game?

NH: "I focus on every aspect that I possibly can, every little detail plays a huge role. Whether it may be breaking down a coverage, my progression, my footwork, my eyes or mechanics, these are just a couple of things that I like to focus on to try to advance my game."


In 2019, your Avonworth football team won the WPIAL 2A football championship in and lost the PIAA 2A football championship. What do you think your team needs to do to repeat as WPIAL champions and get back to the PIAA title game in 2020?

NH: We need to keep working hard day in and day out. It is important to try to improve daily on whatever aspect it may be.


You are originally from Dayton, Ohio. Tell me how the adjustment was for you from changing homes from Dayton to Pittsburgh?

NH: "The transition was a very smooth process, both Dayton and Pittsburgh are great communities filled with great people."


Your family seems to be full of athletes. Your brother Jake plays basketball at Duquesne while your other brother Trey played football at Robert Morris, Duquesne, and Michigan. On top of that, you play football with your other brother Nate, who will be a senior next year at Avonworth. So, tell me the impact that sports has had on you and your family?

NH: "Sports has had a great impact on myself and my family, and I love every second of it. I am just so thankful to be surrounded with such a great family."


What TV show could you binge watch for hours?

NH: "QB1, Last Chance U and a couple others."


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

NH: "I am a very competitive person, who has a great passion for the game of football. I love nothing better than playing for my teammates and the Avonworth community."


Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

149 views
bottom of page