top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

CTA's Day 22 Of Quarantine With Plum's Max Matolcsy


SOURCE: Max Matolcsy (HUDL)



Check out Max Matolcsy: Max is currently a junior at Plum High School. He currently plays linebacker, wide receiver, and tight end on Plum's football team. He is hoping to have a big senior year in 2020. This past WPIAL & PIAA football season, 2019, Max led his Mustangs in receiving yards (527), was ranked second on the team in receptions (26), recorded 138 tackles, recorded 5 sacks, and was named First Team All-Conference Linebacker. He has made a big name for himself on Plum's football team as he has recorded 1,105 receiving yards in his first three seasons at the high school. So far in Max's high school career, Plum's football record is 8-22. Even though Plum's record isn't spectacular, that record doesn't represent the hard work that Max puts in every day to get better and college coaches know that. Max is going to do everything he can to help get Plum into the WPIAL football playoffs for his senior season. He currently has offers to play college football at NCAA Division I schools such as Duquesne, Robert Morris, Columbia, Fordham, Cornell, Yale, Harvard, the University of Pennsylvania, and others. Currently, Max holds a 4.5 GPA in school and scored a 1300 on his Scholastic Aptitude Test.


Questions & Answers:

What have you been doing during this COVID-19 crisis?

Max Matolcsy: "During this time, I’ve been doing my school work, training to get stronger, and spending time with my family."


Now, how has the adjustment been for you in learning in a classroom to now learning online?

MM: "The adjustment of having online school hasn’t been too bad for me. My teachers have done a great job teaching us."


Ever since the COVID-19 pandemic started, you have received a lot of offers from Division I schools. How has the recruiting process been for you?

MM: "The recruiting process has been very good for me. I’ve gotten the chance to talk to coaches and learn more about many programs."


You are known for playing tight end and linebacker at Plum. Are the schools that have given you offers like you more as an offensive or defensive player?

MM: Most schools, that I have talked to, are recruiting me for linebacker. However, a few schools have said that I would have the ability to play offense at their schools.


Last season, your Plum football team went 3-7 and did not qualify for the WPIAL playoffs. What do you think your team needs to do to get back in the playoffs in 2020?

MM: "This year our team will have much more experience with lots of returning starters. We need to train hard this off-season and stay healthy."


So, what's it like playing for head coach Matt Morgan?

MM: "I love playing for Coach Morgan, he is always pushing his players to be the best players they can be and strives for the best."


You also play on Plum's basketball team. How has basketball helped you in the game of football?

MM: "Basketball has definitely helped me become a better football player, and improve things such as my vertical and my footwork."


Tell me a song that can hype you up before a football and basketball game?

MM: "New Level, by Asap Ferg"


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

MM: "One thing that people may be surprised about me is that I care a lot about my academics, and I actually enjoy school."


Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

93 views
bottom of page