top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

CTA's Day 6 Of Quarantine With South Fayette's Charley Rossi


Charley Rossi runs with the football during a South Fayette-Upper St.Clair football game in 2018.

SOURCE: (Hudl, Charley Rossi)


Check out Charley Rossi: Charley Rossi has made a name for himself down at South Fayette High School. He is currently a junior in high school as he has already won a WPIAL football championship with the Lions back in 2018 as a sophomore. This past WPIAL and PIAA football season in 2019, as a junior, Rossi recorded 53 receptions for 820 yards{led South Fayette in receiving yards in 2019] and scored 8 touchdowns as a wide receiver. As a defensive back, he recorded 4 interceptions and made 50 tackles. Rossi was named 1st Team All-Conference WR in 2019. According to the Pittsburgh Post-Gazette, the past two seasons Rossi has recorded 91 receptions for 1,433 yards and scored 16 touchdowns. Rossi also played basketball at South Fayette in his freshman and sophomore years.


Questions & Answers:

What have you been doing during this COVID-19 crisis?

Charley Rossi: "It is easy to get bored pretty quick; so, I find myself lifting and training more than ever. Besides that, I have spent a lot of time either with my family or watching movies or shows on Netflix."


What was your first reaction when you heard that you would not be going back to South Fayette for the rest of the school year because of COVID-19?

CR: "My first thought was how bad I felt for the senior class. I couldn't imagine walking out of that building without a proper goodbye and taking it all in. As for the junior class, I was upset at first, but now I am starting to get into a routine and I kind of enjoy the break. It gives me more time to focus on becoming a better person and player."


Where is the first place you want to go after the COVID-19 pandemic ends and the "Stay at Home Order" is uplifted?

CR: "I am not sure about the place, but I know I will spend that entire day and maybe even week with my friends. Going from seeing them every day to a 2 month quarantine is hard."


Your football team will play in a new section this year with different teams such as Peters Township, South Fayette, West Allegheny, and others. Are you excited to play different teams in 2020?

CR: "Yes. I have wanted to play 5A since freshman year. No disrespect to 4A as we played some incredible talent each and every week. But, it’s a different feeling when your playing schools that are 10 minutes away compared to over an hour. A lot of the teams we play this year are the schools I have competed with since 3rd grade. I’m good friends with a lot of kids from places like Upper St. Clair, Peters Township, and West Allegheny. Everyone likes bragging rights and being able to look back when it’s all said and done and that makes it even more exciting. I am looking forward to the opportunity."


You are considered a veteran on South Fayette's football team. You know what it takes to win championships and know what it is like to lose. The last football game that you played was a 41-30 loss against Belle Vernon in the WPIAL 4A semifinals. What do you think your team needs to do to bounce back and get back to the WPIAL championship in 2020?

CR: "We just need to work on finishing. That has been one of our main focuses in the offseason. Looking back on last year, our team was a first half football team. We had a lead in both of our losses but let it slip away both times. You cannot afford that when you play great programs such as Belle Vernon and Upper St. Clair; especially this year, we know every week is going to be a war. We are going to have to put together a full 4 quarters in order to have a shot at getting back to where we want to be."


Tell me a song that can get you hyped before a football game.

CR: "Dreams and Nightmares by Meek Mill."


You played basketball at South Fayette in your freshman and sophomore year, but not your junior year. Do you mind telling us what made you not play this season?

CR: "It was honestly a decision that was based on what was best for me and my future. I love Coach Mislan and the basketball program he has put together here at South Fayette. I honestly missed it a lot. But, I needed to focus on putting on weight and getting faster and stronger in order to prepare myself for the recruiting season this summer. Size is one attribute that I lack and I could not afford to miss the winter lifting program. It was definitely the right decision. However, I will 100% be out on the floor next winter with the team."


What TV show could you binge watch for hours?

CR: "Money Heist or Game of Thrones"


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

CR: "I almost quit football going into 8th grade to play soccer. I love soccer, but looking back on it I think I made the right decision."


Brentaro Yamane: bythebossandgoat@gmail.com and Twitter @BYHilton13

99 views
bottom of page