top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

CTA's Day 9 Of Quarantine With Central Catholic's Eric Benson Jr.


Central Catholic football player Eric Benson Jr. participates in a photoshoot during Junior Day at Army West Point back in February 2020.

SOURCE: (TWITTER, @EricEBenson1)


Check out Eric Benson Jr.: Eric Benson Jr. is a junior at Central Catholic. He currently plays football at the school as he plays both wide receiver and linebacker. One of his biggest accomplishments of the 2019 PIAA football season was winning the WPIAL 6A football championship against Pine-Richland back on November 16, 2019. His ability to run a 40-yard dash in 4.6 seconds, bench 240 pounds, and squat 400 pounds shows that he has a lot of athleticism. Eric's work ethic is very good as he is working everyday to get better as he is hoping his Central Catholic Vikings can repeat as WPIAL football champions next season.

Questions & Answers:

What have you been doing during this COVID-19 crisis?

Eric Benson Jr: "During this crisis, I have been doing online school and working out by myself."


Now, how has the adjustment been for you in learning in a classroom to now learning online?

EBJ: "It was quite an adjustment; but now I am kind of use to it. The online classes are preparing me for college."


What was it like winning the WPIAL 6A football championship back in November 2019?

EBJ: "Winning the WPIAL championship was a great experience in my life. Going out as a team and playing as a unit was a great opportunity."


As a linebacker and wide receiver, what are some of the things that you do to become better?

EBJ: "Some of the things I do to become better are weight lifting, speed and agility training, and catching drills."


You seem to be making noise in football at Central Catholic. If you did not attend Central Catholic, which high school would you have attended based on where you live? You could have made a big impact at the school district that you live in?

EBJ: "If I did not attend Central Catholic, I would be attending Penn Hills High School. I believe I would make a big impact in the school district I live in."


If you had to choose another WPIAL football player from another school to play at Central Catholic next year, who would you choose? And, why?

EBJ: "One player I would choose to play with me at Central Catholic would be Alex Arledge [Burrell QB, Class of 2021]. The reason I would pick him is because he is a great quarterback and he plays on my 7v7 team. Alex and I also have good chemistry on and off the football field."


Name me a song that can get you hype before a football game.

EBJ: "One song I would listen to is "Dreams and Nightmares" by Meek Mill."


Your favorite NFL team and NCAA football team are.....

EBJ: "Seattle Seahawks and Louisiana State University Tigers"


Who is the coolest celebrity that you have ever met?

EBJ: "Once, I have met Antonio Brown at the UPMC Sports facility."


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

EBJ: "I’m an independent individual and stay to myself."


Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter @BYHilton13

100 views
bottom of page