top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

CTA's WPIAL & City League Week 2 Player of the Week: Peters Township's Breylen Carrington


Peters Township's Breylen Carrington lines up at the line of scrimmage in a game against Baldwin in 2019.


Breylen Carrington

School: Peters Township

Position: DB, WR

Year: Senior

Height: 6-0

Weight: 175

Claim To Fame

This past Friday, Breylen Carrington made his presence against Penn-Trafford as he recorded four interceptions and two of them were returned for a touchdown. He also rushed for 32 yards. His play on the field was a big reason why Peters defeated Penn-Trafford by a score of 24-21. Peters is currently 1-0 on the season.


Questions and Answers


You had 4 interceptions against Penn-Trafford and two of those interceptions were returned for a touchdown. How did you feel after the game this past Friday?

I was really proud of my performance and my team's performance. I'm glad we came out with a win!


How did it feel to get the first game of your senior season out of the way?

It was really relieving to finally play my first game since last year and coming out of the first game with a record of 1-0 makes it even better!


What are some of the things that you do to become a better football player and athlete?

I lift in the weight room and work out on the football field.


Your team begins conference play on Friday against South Fayette. What does your team need to do to beat the Lions?

We just all need to read our keys on defense, make plays on offense and I think we will be just fine.


With 5A being so good, do you think there is a lot of pressure on your team?

Yes, I do, we have a really hard conference and every game is going to be a good one and that just makes the season even more exciting and making all of us even play harder.


Your fellow teammate is the highly talked about and Florida recruit safety Donovan McMillon. What's it like leading the secondary with him?

It's awesome knowing I have ball players all around me like Donovan. He's not just a straight up great athlete; he is a very smart player too. We got some other players in the secondary that are just straight up great football players that have not quite got their name out there like they want too. We have a special defense that I'm just excited for the rest of this season!


If you had to choose another WPIAL or City League player from another school to play at Peters Township, who would you choose?

This is a tough question because there's so many players that are great people and I'd love to have as a teammate. But I think my answer would be Charley Rossi from South Fayette because ever since we were little, we always played each other in extremely intense games, and it was just exciting. I've always kept in touch with him and to have him as a teammate would be pretty cool.


If you could have dinner with any person, who would you choose?

My father, he passed away during my freshman year of high school and I would do anything to have a dinner with him.

AND FINALLY


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

I work at Dunkin' [in McMurray] and right before I got off of my shift, one last car came through the drive-through and it ended up being Ryan Shazier [former Pittsburgh Steelers player]. I will never forget that day!

Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

176 views
bottom of page