top of page

CTA's WPIAL & City League Week 3 Player of the Week: Plum's Reed Martin


SOURCE: #HypeToons


Reed Martin

School: Plum

Position: DB, WR, K. P

Year: Senior

Height: 5-9

Weight: 175

Claim To Fame

This past Friday, Plum football player Reed Martin had a big statement game against Mars. He converted seven extra points while also recording two touchdown receptions. The fact that he also had an interception and recorded four receptions for 34 yards in the game showed he could do it all when it comes to playing on offense, defense, and special teams. At the end of the game, Reed's Mustangs defeated Mars by a score of 49-21 in a huge Greater Allegheny Conference game. Plum is currently 3-0 this season and have the best record in their conference. That's impressive considering that they only won a total of three games last year with a 3-7 record. He currently has offers to play college football from schools such as Westminster College, Grove City College, Mount Union, Baldwin Wallace, and Bethany.

Questions and Answers

This season, your team is currently 3-0. Last season, your team had an overall record of 3-7. What do you think is going right this season?

I truly believe it’s the bond our team has together. We are also all experienced players who are finally starting to click as one unit.


So, how did you get into the game of football?

I started playing when I was 5 and just loved playing ever since. Both my dad and uncle played high school football at Plum. My uncle went on and played football at Bucknell University.


You probably must know that your head coach Matt Morgan won Steelers Coach of the Week. So, what's it like playing for him?

Coach Morgan definitely pushes us every day no matter what our record is. Every week is a new week and makes us practice hard every day to make Fridays easy. Yes, I’m glad he got named "Steelers Coach of the Week", he definitely deserves it.


What do you think your team has to do to beat Highlands on Friday?

I know we are ready we just have to do us; everyone do their own assignments.


Besides, the schools that have offered you, what other schools have shown interest in you?

Most of the schools that recruited me have offered me such as Mount Union, Westminster, Grove City, Baldwin Wallace, and Bethany. I’ve also been on visits to Saint Vincent College, University of Buffalo, Washington & Jefferson, and Waynesburg.


Are colleges recruiting you more as a defensive back, wide receiver or kicker? What position do you feel that you would want to play in college?

I would play anywhere colleges need me to play. As of right now, I’m mostly getting recruited for slot receiver, wildcat quarterback, and special teams (returning and kicking).


Ok, so how has online school been for you?

Online school has been great. I think Plum is doing a really good job considering what we have to deal with. I’m online Monday through Wednesday, then on Thursday and Friday I go into school with the kids with the last name M-Z.


Do you play video games?

Yes, I mostly play Madden and NHL.


Would you be interested in getting the Xbox Series X or PS5?

I’ve had the Xbox 360, now I have a PS4, and I think I’m going stick to Playstation and get the PS5.


This season, if you could choose another WPIAL & City League football team to play at Plum, who would you choose?

Franklin Regional, we were scheduled to play them in Week 0, but it got canceled. I always enjoy playing against them and I felt like it would have been a great matchup. Also, I wanted to get revenge from losing to them last year.


AND FINALLY


What would be something that you would want to go back and change in your life?

I honestly wouldn’t really change anything, but I’d love to go back to freshman year and relive all my great high school football memories again. It truly does fly by in a blink of an eye.


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

Growing up, I’ve played football, baseball, basketball, soccer, track, and dek hockey all the way up until high school. If I didn’t have to choose between certain sports, I’d definitely still be playing them all.



Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

151 views
bottom of page