top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

CTA's WPIAL & City League Week 4 Player of the Week: Yough's C.J. Waldier


Yough wide receiver and defensive back C.J. Waldier makes a catch during a football game in 2019.

SOURCE: Pa Football News


C.J. Waldier

School: Yough

Position: DB, WR, KR

Year: Senior

Height: 6-2

Weight: 195

Claim To Fame

This past Friday, Yough football player C.J. Waldier recorded 10 receptions for 166 yards as one of his receptions was a 66-yard touchdown play against Mount Pleasant. Even though Yough's football team lost that game by a score of 43-32 and now have a 1-3 record, it is obvious that C.J. balled out. He currently has a football offer from Mercyhurst University.

Questions and Answers


Your team is currently 1-3 with a section record of 0-3. What do you think your team needs to do a better job of for the rest of the season?

We need to try to stay healthy. We have five starters out for the season with injuries including our starting QB.


Even though your team seems to have stuff to improve on, you individually have done well. What have you been doing to improve your game?

I have been lifting, doing position drills, and working on my hips. I also do speed and agility drills to increase my speed.


Without giving away secrets, what do you think your teams need to do to beat Southmoreland on Friday?

We need to be very physical and aggressive.


Before the season started, your brother Tristan Waldier (Junior) was the team's starting quarterback before he was ruled out for the season due to an injury. Even though, he has time to recover before his senior year, how do you feel knowing that you will no longer play with him at the high school level anymore?

Truthfully, it crushes me. Especially not knowing our last game together was 9/25/20. We constantly lifted and worked for the season. I watched him push himself every day and do everything he could to be ready and in shape for the season. That is the part that hurts the most. Now, every Friday night I strap up and play for the both of us and do anything I can to help our team win.


So, your team has played four games with limited fans and no student sections. What is that feeling like for you?

Honestly, it does not bother me at all. I am so locked in and have so much adrenaline during the game I do not notice.


Besides Mercyhurst, what other schools have been reaching out to you?

I have been communicating with numerous schools. Some include Lehigh, Robert Morris, Duquesne, Lafayette, Fordham, West Virginia State, Wheeling Jesuit, Allegheny, Grove City, Geneva, St. Vincent, Washington & Jefferson, Kenyon, and Waynesburg.


Do you think that the fact that you come from a small school in Yough is a reason why you are under recruited?

I honestly do not know why I am under recruited. I put-up top-notch numbers and have great size and speed. I just need an opportunity to prove that I can compete at the highest level!


Who is an NFL player that you watch tape on or admire?

I constantly watch film on Ray Lewis and Kam Chancellor. They both play with passion and are very physical. I admire Larry Fitzgerald. He is a great player but an even better person.


How has online school been for you?

At Yough, you can either go online or go to school every day of the week. Currently, I go online but I will start going to school at the beginning of the second nine weeks.


AND FINALLY

What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

I think people would be surprised that I am in National Honor Society.


Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

70 views
bottom of page