top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

Senior Spotlight 10: Callie Sowers (Hempfield)


Hempfield's Callie Sowers poses for a picture in her softball uniform.

SOURCE: (Twitter, @calliesowers19)


One in a series on tributing high school seniors, who are about to graduate high school from the WPIAL & City League.


Name: Callie Sowers

School: Hempfield

Sports: Softball

Future College: Bloomsburg University (Will play Softball)

Future Major: Business and Cybersecurity


Questions & Answers


Up to this point, what has been your favorite high school memory?

Callie Sowers: My absolute favorite high school memory happened in my sophomore year winning the WPIAL championship against North Allegheny after losing to them twice prior in regular season. We beat them 15-0, and I threw a no hitter.


Your senior prom happened earlier in the month? How much did you enjoy it?

CS: Our senior prom was lame to say the least. We had to wear masks the whole time, and dancing was not permitted. We ended up playing bingo for almost two hours.


Back in May 2020, you decided to continue your softball and academic career at Bloomsburg University. What made you decide that Bloomsburg was home?

CS: Bloomsburg felt like home to me among the other schools I visited. Coach Kocher is amazing. After only meeting her a couple of times, she was very nice and welcoming. She has a great record in her coaching history as well. I also loved the campus, as well as all the food options they have to offer. Another bonus is that my catcher on my travel team (Team Pennsylvania), Emma Little, is going to Bloomsburg as well. It will be great to continue our battery into the next level.


With WPIAL playoffs around the corner, how do you feel your team is doing so far?

CS: Our team is continuing to make positive strides. We are a young team, and as we keep progressing we are gaining consistency. I think we can definitely make a great run this year.


You have already won two WPIAL softball championships and one PIAA softball championship. What would it mean to you to get another WPIAL and PIAA title before you graduate?

CS: It is my dream since the day practice started my freshman year. I want nothing more at the moment than another WPIAL and PIAA title before I graduate.


Tell me a song that can get you pumped up before a softball game.

CS: I actually do not listen to music before a game I focus in silence. But, after a game, I like listening to "Livin' On A Prayer" by Bon Jovi.


Ok, so who would your say is your favorite softball player?

CS: Miranda Elish, when she played for Texas, she was hit very badly right in the face during a game. Then, a few weeks later, she made a great comeback. It encouraged me that I could come back strong off my injury of a broken thumb through the joint, my injury was definitely not intense as her injury. Anyways, all around she is a great pitcher and I love watching her compete.


Mother's Day just happened on Sunday. Tell me, how did you spend the day?

CS: I woke up early, ran to Starbucks, and brought my mom and Mimi their favorite coffees and sandwiches. Later that day, we had dinner as a family, and we played Blackjack.


What do you think you would miss the most about high school?

CS: Softball, I am going to miss high school softball. It is so fun, and the coaches of my team run the practice really great. I had a great experience even with being cut short a year (2020 WPIAL and PIAA softball season cancelled due to COVID-19).


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

CS: I lost 35 pounds during the pandemic, and I found a love for working out.



Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

78 views
bottom of page