top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

Senior Spotlight 14: Darius McClendon (Carlynton)


Darius McClendon shows off his Carlynton football jersey.

SOURCE: (Instagram, @duragdee8)


One in a series on tributing high school seniors, who are about to graduate high school from the WPIAL & City League.


Name: Darius McClendon

School: Carlynton

Sports: Football

Future College: Washington & Jefferson University (Will play Football)

Future Major: Pre-Law/Psychology


Questions & Answers


Up to this point, what has been your favorite high school memory?

Darius McClendon: Spending time with my friends and playing football.


Back in February you decided to commit to Washington & Jefferson College to continue your football and academic career. What made you choose W&J as your future home?

DM: I felt that it was the best place to be, and I felt that was the place I wanted to be. I know I’m going to grow and be successful there.


At the beginning of your high school career, you went to Chartiers Valley, and then you transferred to Carlynton in your junior year. How did you feel about transferring and are you enjoying your time at Carlynton?

DM: I felt that I wasn’t going to shine there, but now I’m getting ready to graduate in two weeks, and I feel like I accomplished a lot.


The first round of the NBA playoffs is going to begin soon. Who do you think will win this year's championship?

DM: Brooklyn Nets


So, the Steelers drafted Najee Harris in the first round of the 2021 NFL Draft. How do you feel about the Steelers drafting Najee?

DM: I feel that Najee Harris is a great addition to the Steelers, and they needed to get a running back.


Where is your go-to place to get food?

DM: Moe's or Chick-fil-A


If you could go anywhere in the world, where would you go?

DM: Los Angeles


Your senior prom is on May 26th. How excited are you for prom?

DM: I'm very excited.

What do you think you will miss the most about high school?

DM: My friends and playing football.


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

DM: I’m a loving and nice person to get to know.



Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

80 views
bottom of page