top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

Senior Spotlight 16: Kennedie Montue (Plum)


Back in November 2020, Kennedie Montue signed her National Letter of Intent to continue her academic and basketball career at Oakland University. Kennedie's family was there when she signed.

SOURCE: (Twitter, @MontueKennedie)


One in a series on tributing high school seniors, who are about to graduate high school from the WPIAL & City League.


Name: Kennedie Montue

School: Plum

Sports: Basketball

Future College: Oakland University (Will play Basketball)


Questions & Answers


Up to this point, what has been your favorite high school memory?

Kennedie Montue: Breaking the school scoring record in points scored!


Over a year ago on May 11, 2020, you committed to Oakland University to continue your basketball and academic career. What made you choose Oakland?

KM: Oakland felt like home. I felt like I belonged there. The coaching staff and players are amazing, and they made me feel that Oakland was the right place for me.


Let's talk about your head basketball coach at Plum in Steve Elsier. What was it like playing for him during your time in high school?

KM: Playing for Coach Steve taught me perseverance through any and all situations.


Ok, who would you say is your favorite basketball player?

KM: LeBron James is my favorite male basketball player because he is an amazing role model on and off the court. Maya Moore is my favorite female basketball player. She was amazing on the court and off the court, she left the WNBA to pursue her dreams of criminal reform.


This postseason, which NBA team do you think can make a deep run?

KM: The Suns


As a student athlete, how would you want the Plum community to remember you?

KM: I want to be remembered as a strong black female student-athlete.


What do you think you will miss the most about high school?

KM: My friends and the high school environment.


Throughout your high school career as a basketball player, what do you think is the biggest change or improvement that you noticed in yourself?

KM: Leadership is my biggest improvement that I had in my high school basketball career. Stepping on the court beginning my freshman year, I grew, matured and led my team to a level of success.


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

KM: I draw in order to calm and soothe myself.



Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

52 views
bottom of page