top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

Senior Spotlight 17: Connor McMahon (Canon-McMillan)


Back in December 2020, Connor McMahon signed his National Letter of Intent to continue his football and academic career at the United States Naval Academy.

SOURCE: (Twitter, @ConnorMcMahon 94)


One in a series on tributing high school seniors, who are about to graduate high school from the WPIAL & City League.


Name: Connor McMahon

School: Canon-McMillan

Sports: Football, Basketball and Swimming

Future College: United States Naval Academy (Will play Football)

Future Major: Quantitative Economics or Social Security


Questions & Answers


Up to this point, what has been your favorite high school memory?

Connor McMahon: Beating Mt. Lebanon for the first time in 13 years (On Sept. 18, 2020, Canon-McMillan's football team defeated Mt. Lebanon 24-17 at home).


Back in May 2020, you decided to commit to the US Naval Academy Center to continue your academic and football career? So, what made you just choose Navy out of all the other schools that offered you?

CM: I felt like it was the best fit for me academically and football-wise. After speaking with the coaches, I was all in for everything the school had to offer.


What would it mean to you to put on a Navy Working Uniform and serve the United States after graduating college?

CM: I would be very honored and proud to serve our country.


You'll be playing on the offensive line at Navy. Who is one of your favorite offensive lineman to watch film on?

CM: I like watching Trent Williams on the 49ers dominate on the field every Sunday.


Throughout your high school career, how would you say that you have developed as a student and athlete?

CM: I’ve learned to manage my time wisely between sports and studying for school. My hard work has payed off because I am maintaining a 4.65 GPA. I’ve also put a lot of time in the weight room getting stronger and faster to get ready to play at the next level.


Earlier in the school year, you were named Homecoming King. What did that honor mean to you?

CM: It was an honor to be nominated and selected by all of my peers in my senior class.


Besides playing football, you also competed in swimming and played basketball at Canon-McMillan. What was it like being a three-sport athlete in high school?

CM: Unfortunately, my basketball career ended when I tore my knee the first game of my junior year. After I decided to commit to Navy, I joined the swim team to prepare myself for the swimming tests at Navy. Playing different sports has helped me become a better athlete and has helped me with my endurance.


Sarris Candies is located in Canonsburg. What is your favorite item to get from there?

CM: I love the Oreos and Cream large milkshakes, and of course, the chocolate covered pretzels.


What do you think you will miss the most about high school?

CM: I’ll miss hanging out with my friends, and playing sports with the guys I grew up with.


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

CM: Twice, I was on ESPN's SportsCenter by the age of 14 because of playing baseball, and I’m a decent ping pong player.



Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

84 views
bottom of page