top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

Senior Spotlight 18: Greg Phillips (North Allegheny)


Greg Phillips attempts to throw a pass during a North Allegheny football game.

SOURCE: (Twitter, @Greg_Phillips03)


One in a series on tributing high school seniors, who are about to graduate high school from the WPIAL & City League.


Name: Greg Phillips

School: North Allegheny

Sports: Football, Basketball and Tennis

Future College: Worcester Polytechnic Institute (Will play Football)

Future Major: Chemical Engineering


Questions & Answers


Up to this point, what has been your favorite high school memory?

Greg Phillips: My favorite high school memory was throwing 4 touchdowns on senior night.


Back on Feb. 21, you committed to Worcester Polytechnic Institute (WPI) to continue your football and academic career. What made you choose WPI as your future home?

GP: The coaching staff was very welcoming, and they have a family mentality. I wanted to go to a school that would give me a great education while also competing for football championships, and WPI is the best of both worlds.


Since your loss against Central Catholic in the WPIAL 6A Football Championship game back in November, what have you done to improve your skills as a quarterback?

GP: I have been using my quarterback coach, Matt Butler, as a great resource to help me with my throwing motion and footwork. WPI has given me a very detailed off-season workout/conditioning schedule to help me prepare myself for the fall season.


Tell me the impact your head football coach Art Walker has had on your life.

GP: Coach Walker has shown me what it means to be a leader, not only on the football field, but also in the community.


Now that your high school career is about to wrap up, which school do you think has the biggest rivalry with North Allegheny when it comes to athletics?

GP: When it comes to rivalries with North Allegheny football, Central Catholic will always be circled on the schedule. However, between all of the athletics at our school, no rivalry is a bigger rivalry than North Allegheny and Seneca Valley. No matter the sport, it is always a hard-nosed tough contest between the schools.


North Allegheny is definitely one of the biggest schools in the WPIAL. About how many kids do you think you will graduate with?

GP: I believe it’s around 650 students.


Excluding yourself, who do you think was the most well-known student in your grade at North Allegheny?

GP: Without a doubt, Khalil Dinkins is the biggest name in my grade.


Out of all the quarterbacks that were selected in the 2021 NFL Draft, which one do you think will have the best career in the NFL?

GP: I think Trevor Lawrence will have the best career. He has great pocket presence, and he has the size to be a pocket passer. But, what makes him special is his ability to run as well.


What is one of your favorite TV shows to watch?

GP: Bob's Burgers or The Office are two of my favorite TV shows to watch.


What do you think you will miss the most about high school?

GP: I’m going to miss the feeling of walking down the hill past the student section while the song "Enter Sandman" is playing. There’s no better feeling than that.


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

GP: I played football, basketball and tennis for North Allegheny. I also play the cello in the orchestra.



Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

189 views
bottom of page