top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

Senior Spotlight 19: Cole Spencer (Pine-Richland)


Cole Spencer runs with a football during a football game.

SOURCE: (Twitter, @Cole_Spencer4)


One in a series on tributing high school seniors, who are about to graduate high school from the WPIAL & City League.


Name: Cole Spencer

School: Pine-Richland

Sports: Football and Wrestling

Future College: University of Pennsylvania (Will Wrestle)

Future Major: Undecided (Wants to major something within Business)


Questions & Answers


Up to this point, what has been your favorite high school memory?

Cole Spencer: I would have to say I have two favorite memories, and they both are going to Hershey for football and wrestling during my senior year. The football one was awesome because we won and I got to celebrate with all my friends after. The wrestling one was tough because I didn’t achieve my goal of being a state champion, but having all my friends come up to support me was awesome.


You're going to enter college soon, what are some of the things that you are excited about when you arrive at the University of Pennsylvania?

CS: The thing I am most excited about is to get in with a system and program designed for strictly wrestling. I’ve had to battle between the two sports, football and wrestling, for the past 13 years, and now that I can put 100% into wrestling, I am looking forward to see how good I can be.


Tell me the impact your head football coach Eric Kasperowicz has had on your life.

CS: Coach K has done a lot for me and not just on the field. After this season, I got to spend some time with him at some ceremonial luncheon and award banquets, and to listen to some of the things he had to say about me was really awesome to hear. I am glad he was my coach for all of my high school career, and I hope nothing but the best for him. It is also cool since he was the only person on the football coaching staff to be a wrestler as well so we always had that bond.


What was one of your favorite classes that you ever had at Pine-Richland?

CS: During my freshman year, I took a wood shop class, and the teacher is still probably my favorite teacher to this day. Shout-out to Mr. Mazur.


Tell me a song that can get you hype before a football game or a wrestling match.

CS: Dreams and Nightmares by Meek Mill, It hits different in the locker room with the boys.


Who is your favorite person to follow on Twitter?

CS: Barstool Sports, there stuff is always funny.


Where is your go-to place to get food?

CS: You can never go wrong with a Chipotle bowl, but Sushi Bomb in Robinson is real good.


What do you think was the best food item that Pine-Richland's cafeteria served?

CS: The sub line, I would always get the Buffalo Chicken sub.


What do you think you will miss the most about high school?

CS: Definitely my friends. The friendships and bonds I have made with these people since the beginning is something that I will always take with me.


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

CS: I was actually born in Berlin, Germany. My parents were on Broadway doing a show out there when I was born.



Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

80 views
bottom of page