top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

Senior Spotlight 21: Jake Vitale (Union Area)


Back in February, Jake Vitale flexed his muscles at Westminster College's track.

SOURCE: (Twitter, @jakevitale10)


One in a series on tributing high school seniors, who are about to graduate high school from the WPIAL & City League.


Name: Jake Vitale

School: Union Area

Sports: Football and Baseball

Future College: Westminster College (Will play Football and Baseball)

Future Major: Computer Science


Questions & Answers


Up to this point, what has been your favorite high school memory?

Jake Vitale: Winning the WPIAL Baseball Championship with my teammates.


This past Tuesday, you threw a no-hitter, 15 strikeouts and three walks in a 3-0 victory over No. 7 Riverview in the WPIAL 1A Baseball Championship game. Tell me what it was like for you helping Union capture their first ever WPIAL Baseball championship and throwing a no-hitter at the same time.

JV: It felt amazing being the first team to win a baseball WPIAL Championship for my school. Last year, we lost our season due to COVID-19 and I really felt like we could’ve won it all. So, winning this was not only for our school, it was also for the seniors that lost their season last year. I wasn’t really thinking about the no hitter if I’m being honest, I just wanted to come out and capture a WPIAL title.


Your catcher is your younger brother Nick, who is a junior, What's it like having him be the man behind the plate for you?

JV: We’ve been playing baseball together ever since I was 4 and he was 3. So, it was really special I got to throw to him during the WPIAL championship. He’s been doing a great job behind the plate all season long and I wouldn’t want to be throwing to anybody else.


Back in February, you committed to Westminster College to continue your baseball, football, and academic career. What made you choose Westminster as home?

JV: I felt like Westminster was the right place for me because I have many friends that go there, it’s close to home, and they have a great coaching staff that makes me feel like I’ll fit right into place there.


I have to ask you, who is your favorite MLB player?

JV: Fernando Tatís Jr., he plays the game giving 100% effort every play, and he just simply loves the game of baseball.


Now, who is your favorite NFL player?

JV: Tom Brady, he’s by far the most competitive player in the NFL, and he has great leadership skills.


When it comes to all sports, who do you think Union has the biggest rivalry against?

JV: A couple of years back, I feel that it was Vincentian Academy. But since they closed down, I think that it’s Shenango.


During your grade school career, what was one of your favorite field trips that you ever went on?

JV: Going to Heinz Field.


What do you think you will miss the most about high school?

JV: Seeing the people that I grew up with everyday as well as seeing my teachers everyday. We go to a small school, so many of our teachers teach different subjects. Usually, we have almost a few of the same teachers every year. Union helped me create friendships and memories that’ll last forever.


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

JV: I love all of the sports I play, but nothing compares to playing football.



Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

190 views
bottom of page