top of page
  • Writer's pictureBrentaro Yamane

Senior Spotlight 4: Emma Pavelek (Beaver Area)


Emma Pavelek goes on her phone after winning the WPIAL 4A girls basketball championship game against Quaker Valley on March 12, 2021.


One in a series on tributing high school seniors, who are about to graduate high school from the WPIAL & City League.


Name: Emma Pavelek

School: Beaver Area

Sports: Basketball and Track & Field (Combined total of 14 WPIAL & PIAA medals)

Future College: N/A

Future Major: Criminal Justice


Questions & Answers


What was your favorite high school memory up to this point?

Emma Pavelek: Winning the WPIAL Championship with some of the most amazing teammates and people that I could ever ask for.


As the WPIAL team and individual Track & Field championships are approaching, what are some of the goals that you want to achieve before your career is over?

EP: I'd like to win another WPIAL gold in high jump and most of all, win a state championship for high jump!


So, tell us did any colleges start trying to recruit you for either basketball or track & field after you decommitted from Navy?

EP: Yes. the day all of the articles and interviews went out about me decommitting, I had about 17 schools that wanted to talk with me. A lot of them for both basketball and track. It has been fun getting to know so many new people and learn about so many amazing programs!


Wherever you decide to go to college, what would you want to major in?

EP: I’d want to major in criminal justice.


Ok, who is the toughest basketball player that you ever faced?

EP: In a game like situation, I’d have to say either Corynne Hauser (Rochester, Class of 2022) or Bailey Garbee (Quaker Valley, Class of 2021). They are both dynamic players and are very athletic. But I could also say that Bella Posset (Former Beaver basketball player and current St. Francis Brooklyn basketball player) was the toughest player I have faced when it comes to playing in practice.


So, how was your time playing Beaver Assassins?

EP: Beaver Assassins was so fun. My teammate, Natalie Priest, and I were doing very well but unfortunately we had to except a bribe. We weren’t able to get our targets out on time, so the people who were going after us payed us money to let them get us out before time expired in the round. We ended up making profit so I can’t complain too much!


If you could meet any celebrity, who would you choose?

EP: I would love to meet Steph Curry and go through a ball-handling workout with him! That would be absolutely amazing!


What song can get you hyped before a basketball game or Track & Field meet?

EP: Clear Eyes, Full heart, Can’t Lose by T. Powell. My dad showed me that song a long time ago when I was little, and I used to listen to it before every single game in the car with him.


What is one of the funniest moments that happened at Beaver during your time there?

EP: This is a tough one because there have been so many crazy and funny things to happen at Beaver, but I’d have to say one of the top ones was when a friend and I were walking down the staircase, and I tripped and ended up falling down an entire flight of stairs.


What do you think you will miss the most about high school?

EP: I’m going to miss my friends. I know I will always be close with my best friends, but thinking about leaving them makes my heart hurt. I’m excited to make new friends in college though, and to make even more memories!


What is something that people would be surprised to know about you?

EP: I danced for about 11 years, and I danced competitively for about 6 or 7 years. No, I cannot do a TikTok dance... but if you asked me to do a pirouette or a switch leap, I gotcha!




Brentaro Yamane: bkyamane@gmail.com and Twitter/Instagram @BYHilton13

104 views
bottom of page